What Music Means to Me

Luís Torres
3 min readDec 18, 2017

My journey through the music world is quite curious, when I was younger I didn’t pay much attention to it.
I remember when I was like 12 years old and my father asked me if I wanted a hi-fi stereo system, my sister had one and he thought it would be cool for me to have one too.
I remember my answer “No, what do I want it for? I don’t even listen to music.”, I told him.

I listened to some of the stuff my sister listened, like The Offspring, when she got the album “Americana” when it came out, has a birthday present. She also listened to The Kelly Family and a lot of Celine Dion. Like a lot.
I guess it was a couple of years later that I started listening to Linkin Park, Papa Roach, Limp Bizkit and that kind of stuff. All these bands were at top hype at the time.

Can’t recall how I started to listen to them, probably by some friends of mine at the time, since everyone was talking about them.
The next year, my father gave me a stereo system, nothing too fancy, it played tapes and CD’s, so it was good enough.

Still didn’t had much of a connection with music at the time, just listened whenever I was bored.

Some years went by and in high school I started to dive in different kinds of music, more artists.
Started listening to Slipknot, Rammstein, Atreyu, a lot of commercial music from that time and EDM too. I remember really well when I burned a MP3 cd with Craig David’s “What’s Your Flava”, I felt really good listening to it haha.

Then I got into college and started my path where I kind of am right now.
Started listening to heavier and heavier music. At that time, Slipknot was probably the heaviest thing I listened to.

Two things that brought a lot of new artists to my attention were SAW 2 official OST and Need For Speed: Most Wanted OST.
Artists like Disturbed, Static-X and Godsmack came into my life through video games.

But this was not enough, so I went into discussion forums about Heavy Metal, and followed some of the suggestions.
Blind Guardian and Nevermore were one of the few names I tried out. I enjoyed Blind Guardian, Nevermore not so much, the vocalist type of vocals was not my cup of tea.

Then all of the other stuff came quite naturally.
Lamb of God (one of my favourite bands), Machine Head, Behemoth, Avenged Sevenfold, Tool, Opeth, Mastodon, Meshuggah just to name a few.

So yeah, my music repertoire got a “little bit” heavier.

I truly love music. I love to discover new awesome music. And actually I am always searching for something new and fresh stuff. It may as well be from 1957 or 2017 or even a classic or baroque composer I never heard of. Explanation: what I mean by new, is that I never heard of it before.

It makes me feel peaceful, I get a lot of insomnia and what best way to fall asleep than listening to some good music.
Karnivool’s “New Day” does the trick. It eases my mind, and disconnects me from all those unnecessary thoughts I may have when I am in bed.
It may has well be “Conquer All” by Behemoth. Yeah, because some Death Metal with Black Metal influences, can also help me go to sleep.

Music is an amazing form of art. It shapes a lot of our day to day life. It gives you nostalgia, when you hear some tune from an old comercial for instance; it changes the way how you see and interpret a film.
Music is one of the best ways the human being can express himself, be it happiness, sadness, loneliness, joyfulness.

It connects with us from within, helps us connect with each others, and many many times, it landmarks stages of our own lives.

Music is a beautiful thing, embrace it, feel it, love it!

Follow me: Instagram|Pinterest|Twitter

--

--

Luís Torres

Java Software Engineer. Having a blast living in the Netherlands. Passionate about music and cryptoassets. Spreading my insights how to be a better human.