Gutenberg: from the drama to the real life

Luis Godinho
4 min readSep 4, 2018
Ahhh, the good old times! — Photo by Mr Cup / Fabien Barral on Unsplash

For a seasoned WordPress developer, the new WordPress editor is a breakthrough in the regular workflow of building a website for a client.

WordPress is a very powerful framework, very extensible through themes and plugins, custom post types, custom fields, hooks and several other APIs… and it brings to the table a clean turn-key dashboard (the admin) very easy to use by our clients. As a web developer it is a luxury to not have to worry about the dashboard of a website. A major plus of WordPress.

I’ve been actively developing websites using WordPress since 2012. By then, as a junior WordPress developer I was still finding my way around some concepts: Should I use a custom post type or just drop all the content as posts with different categories? How to organise the taxonomies (tags vs categories) ?

Then I learnt about custom fields, but to add a fancy metabox on the admin screen of a post it was too complex for my PHP skills at the time. Thank god the ACF plugin saved me.

Fast forwarding, and with every new client project pushing my knowledge boundaries, I eventually became very seasoned with WordPress at a point I feel like I’m able to build anything with it. I once told everything is possible with WordPress (link in Portuguese). I still believe in this. And I am as confident with it as I am…

--

--