UCD in Your World: Applying My UX Designer Experience to My Own Life — Part I

Ever heard of UCD? No, it’s not some weird cult or a mysterious disease. UCD stands for “User-Centered Design,” or, to put it simply, it’s the art of design sprinkled into our everyday existence to make things smoother and way more delightful. Imagine your daily grind with a splash of design wizardry, like your life is the ultimate makeover project.

Luiza Homsy
5 min readNov 1, 2023
Photo by Hal Gatewood on Unsplash

Alright, let’s kick this off: Life’s greatest hits are the ones that catch us by surprise when we least expect it, don’t you agree? You don’t have to, but to me those moments make us think the universe is one crazy, magical place. I’ve had my fair share of experiences that prove this, especially when we keep faith in life’s awesomeness, and no, I’m not talking about religious faith here (although I have my own beliefs). So, buckle up for this journey.

This kind of faith in life happens when we learn to see the beauty in things, even when the skies are cloudy, and everything looks more complicated than a Rubik’s Cube. It’s the belief that in the end, things will sort themselves out. Money comes and goes, people waltz into and out of our lives, places become part of our story and then move on. In the grand scheme of things, it’s up to us to draw our own path.

Now, quick reminder, I get it, I’ve had my fair share of privileges, and not everyone’s life follows the same plot twists. This text might not be a snug fit for everyone, but I hope that if you’re reading this, it can be like a compass, showing you what to do (or what not to do).

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

So, let me set the stage here. I was born and raised in Rio de Janeiro for a good 28 years, but a series of events, like losing my grandpa and getting rejected by two dream companies, made me rethink my life choices. It was like the universe was saying, “Time for a change!” And, since I’m not exactly the queen of stepping out of my comfort zone, I decided to take a bold (well, kinda bold) step and move to Portugal. I ditched both my jobs, saved some cash, sold my car, and snagged a 50% scholarship for my master’s degree. With everything prepped, I was ready for the adventure. Of course, in the beginning, the fear of leaving my comfort zone hit me like a ton of bricks, but I promise we’ll get to the juicy stuff.

I landed a position in my field as a designer while pursuing my studies. At the time, I thought it was all sheer luck — the annoying imposter syndrome kept creeping in, planting seeds of doubt in my mind. Even with a decade of experience under my belt, I continued to second-guess myself. However, after four years with the company, the CEO surprised me with an offer to become the creative director. It was another “wow” moment, and at last, I came to the realization that it wasn’t mere luck (finally); it was my talents shining through.

But, even with professional success, something was missing. While tackling my master’s and diving into the world of UX/UI, everything fell into place. I graduated in Industrial Design with a specialization in Product Design from PUC-Rio, a top-notch college in Brazil. Back then, I had no clue I’d end up in the world of digital product design. But I realized that it wasn’t the final products that got me jazzed; it was the creative process.

Photo by Umit Y Buz on Unsplash

So, guess what? I decided to throw everything out the window once more to chase my new love: UX/UI. And believe me, it wasn’t as smooth as it might sound. After a year at an amazing startup, the company hit some financial bumps and had to trim the team, including me. I found myself jobless.

The world came crashing down, and this time, it was no false alarm. I had already spent two years in therapy, learning how to confront my fears and tackle life’s storms head-on. “Let’s make a plan, let’s do it,” my mind screamed, even though my body was responding differently. In both life and design, the secret sauce for success lies in our ability to embrace those unexpected curveballs with creativity and resilience, doesn’t it?

Listening to my body and working on its healing, I had a revelation. I discovered that the very thing I had feared and doubted the most, my own experience, was the key to my transformation. It was time to infuse my UCD expertise into my own life. But before we dive headfirst into this thrilling adventure of self-discovery and self-improvement, let me give you the lowdown on User-Centered Design.

This approach is a special concoction of:

1. Prioritizing user needs (Empathetic): Just as great design caters to user needs, I recognized that my own life could be enhanced by focusing on what truly matters to me.

2. Involving the user in the development process (Collaborative): Similar to how design benefits from user input, I actively chose to involve myself in crafting my own narrative, making choices aligned with my desires and goals (not those of others).

3. Embracing the potential for change (Optimistic): Like in design, where the belief in improvement is at its core, I adopted an optimistic perspective, believing I could shape my life in accordance with my aspirations.

4. Valuing learning through practice (Experimental): In design, learning unfolds through experimentation and iteration. I opted to learn from my own experiences, adjusting my course when needed and relentlessly seeking improvement.

Now that we’ve laid the groundwork for UCD, it’s time to get our hands dirty, craft a game plan, and dive in. But keep in mind, that there are hurdles on the horizon, and this is merely the opening chapter of my user journey, isn’t it?

Stay tuned for Part II.

With Love, Lu

--

--