Design your Ideal Week

Life isn’t perfect, but this week might be

Luke Mac
13 min readApr 22, 2019
“Every plan is a tiny prayer to Father Time.” — Death Cab for Cutie. Photo by Curtis MacNewton on Unsplash

The best way to get your dream job is to write your own job description, and that’s exactly what I did when I was seven years old.

The year is 1988. Rick Astley’s Never Gonna Give You Up is unironically popular, and I’ve never seen an avocado. My salary is a humble $52 per annum in pocket money. But I have good job satisfaction, and the working conditions are great, with attractive office hours: 9am to 2pm.

You see, school’s out for the summer and with plenty of free time on my hands, I’ve drawn up a weekly duties chart, with time blocked out for various professional to-dos.

In the morning, my first responsibility is throwing a ball down our driveway to try and hit a toy car, a variation on ten-pin bowling I’ve invented. A direct hit is worth 10 points, a glancing hit 5. I record my score and try to top the leaderboard next day: ‘My First KPI’. Other tasks include organising toy soldiers, practicing video games and managing various large-scale construction projects (of LEGO).

--

--

Luke Mac

Sex & planes & video games: I write at the intersection of productivity, gamification, personal knowledge management, systems thinking and lifestyle design.