One Week to BCBR 2016!

Dan Schick
1 min readJun 29, 2016

--

A week today I have to check in the bike to event organizers and so will start the adventure of a 7 day bike race. Lots of thoughts occupy my attention these days, most of which are trivial by this point such as ‘is this lip balm a high enough SPF?’ Most of the big stuff is resolved with a few outstanding items I will tie up in the next few days.

The frequency of the blog didn’t work out like I expected, and that is okay. I’ve had a chance to document a few snapshots of my experiences and that’s better than nothing. Unexpectedly Instagram (@Lumpycam) ended up being where most of my daily updates landed. It was fun capturing photo documents of the journey.

One of the lessons learned from this experience is that I had just enough time to train and pull everything together, given all the other life demands. Whenever a spare 30min popped into my calendar I put it into training or specific planning items rather than writing. A conscious trade.

see, i did ride bikes occasionally in preparation

After a year of planning, preparing, and training I’m looking forward to getting going!

--

--

Dan Schick

I’m a 40-something guy based in Vancouver, BC, Canada. I ride bikes and wear a tie to work. For daily photo updates: https://www.instagram.com/lumpycam/