Asian marinated flank steak with cauliflower rice

Luna G
3 min readMar 23, 2020

--

Indie and I made the marinade for it yesterday, so it was super flavorful!

Marinade for 1.5–2 lbs of flank steak:
1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
2 T avocado oil or other high heat liquid cooking oil (not coconut!)
2 T honey
2 T balsamic vinegar
2 T Worcestershire sauce
2 T ginger, peeled and finely chopped or a paste (I used a paste)
3 packets sweetener
1 T sesame oil
1 T sambal oelek or other chili sauce/paste
4 cloves of garlic, pressed or finely chopped

We’re moving soon, so I packed most of our pots and pans. I made both the meat and veggies in a big 14" nonstick Granite Stone skillet that I haven’t packed away yet. I made the “rice” first by microwaving 1 lb of frozen riced cauliflower for 5 minutes. While that was heating up, I sauteed finely chopped yellow onion and celery over medium heat in avocado oil with some kosher salt. Then when the onions were translucent, I added the cauliflower rice, 1 teaspoon of Better Than Bouillon chicken base, kosher salt, and white pepper to taste. I stirred occasionally until the moisture was mostly out of the cauliflower. Then I put the rice in a container and cleaned the pan to cook the steak.

Prior to marinating, I cut a giant 2 lb flank steak into 4 portions so it would fit in my skillet more easily. I heated my pan over medium-high heat, and when that I was hot I shook the marinade off the steaks and cooked them for 2 minutes per side. I cooked 2 of the steaks at a time to allow enough space so the surface would brown instead of just steaming. Then I let them rest in a warm place while I reduced the marinade into a sauce. Let the beef rest for 5–10 minutes before slicing so the juices don’t run out. Instead of turning the oven on to keep something warm, I just heat up a big dish in the microwave for a minute and then put the steaks on there with the microwave turned off.

To make the sauce, I put the leftover marinade in the hot skillet and added 3/4 cup of chicken broth. I scraped the bottom of the pan to release the beef fond and let that reduce for a little while. To make the sauce thicker, I made a slurry with a tablespoon of cornstarch and a little water and put that in the sauce and whisked until smooth. There are low carb substitutes for corn starch, but in my opinion, a tablespoon really doesn’t have too many carbs when stretched over a big recipe like this. Then I stirred the sauce occasionally until it was thicker. Be careful not to over-reduce, otherwise your sauce will be too salty. Add toasted sesame seeds and then pour the sauce over your steak.

--

--

Luna G
0 Followers

low carb and keto cooking & baking | knitting | crocheting | embroidery | mama stuff