Mom made me a girl

luna belle
9 min readOct 28, 2023

It started off like any other holiday with my parents. My dads needs to travel for business a lot, and we usually end up taking extended family holidays when he does. This time it was to be a week to the coast.

I wasn’t looking forward to it. But then everything changed when my mom called me into the living room just a few days before we were about to leave.

“What’s up guys?” I asked, bored as always and settling on onto the couch next to my parents.

Mom had a very serious look on her face. Dad did as well, but for some reason he couldn’t look me in the eye.

Mom leaned closer and placed her palm on my leg, like she always did when she was about to say something serious.

“Honey, do you remember last year? When you went through that phase?” She stopped for a moment. Stammering. “Sorry. I mean when we went to see that doctor? Remember?”

My eyes widened and I could feel my heartbeat quicken. Mom was not really bringing up that was she.

“Your gender therapist?” I said, my voice was low and cold. My parents had made me visit a transphobic hack, masquerading as a Gender therapist. It had not been a good year, I hated him and everything he made me go through. I had spent the rest of the year hating myself.

“Listen honey. ” Mom continued. “Your father and I have been talking about.” She paused searching for the right word. “ About your, feelings.” At this she looked to my dad, who was inspecting his…

--

--