january-2017

Jose Luquin
3 min readJan 27, 2017

--

New Year = New Challenges

First of all, I must start by pausing a moment to acknowledge my gratitude and appreciation to life, family, friends, and clients who are always supporting and encouraging one way or another.

That said, now let’s get back to business, and that is the business of exposing myself to the challenge of keeping at least one post a month, with the goal of becoming more digitally active in the industry and some other professional networks to help growth my practice as an entrepreneur.

I can’t believe it has been already a year since I started working independently, the first couple of months the future ahead look extremely uncertain, as most of us I was also used to the idea or mindset of the traditional working model. (Or should I said life model… mmm well that’s a bit deeper) Anyways we all are very used to the idea that you study, you intern, you graduate, you find a job, and you stay there for as long as you can hang there. Many go even to the extreme of retiring from that one job (boooooring).

Well anyways, I’ve been always the kind of person who like the challenges and the thrill of new things, that is why I’ve always had the idea and discipline of combining my day job with all kind of other activities to fulfill my professional development; side projects, collaborations, personal ideas, self-education to mention a few. 2014 was the year when I decided to pursue a 2-year postgraduate degree which was accomplished fall of 2016. Now I think is time to start giving some back, for my personal sake, to honor and thank my family who supported me, to my clients, and why not to the community.

How I will get there?

I am still figuring how, still exploring, still learning, getting involved in projects that are meaningful and have a positive impact on society, community, education, etc.

Is this the right way?

Not sure just yet, but I’m gladly appreciative of the fact that some of my professional interventions on some of those project would help raise awareness, align or join the efforts of some talented and well-centered individuals who are working towards accomplishing a great goal and great achievements that would impact positively the life of others.

Let’s take action!

It’s time to build and strengthen relations, build bridges, and work in parallel with those who are on the same path to a better tomorrow, regardless of political uncertainties, situational or geographical disparities, languages, color, race, religions, etc. It is the time to build, growth and empowerment for the creative community to flourish not only as makers of beautiful artifacts, we have all the tools and knowledge to effectively build what we dream.

And for that, we need to surround our selfs with those who believe and share our ideals and dreams, with those who nourish the same common goals and code of ethics in our practice, only then we could achieve and cross milestones that we’ve marked to continue to build our future.

Having said that and as a closing remark, I must say that I accept the new year and the new challenges it entails.

Credits for the illustration go to Freepik and available to download download here!

Originally published at wp.joseluquin.com.

--

--

Jose Luquin

José ( Pepe ) Luquin: Multidisciplinary designer with 18 years of experience in the creative industries. Co-Founder & CMO of Multitaskr.