To Have Integrity

Lu Skerdoo
3 min readAug 13, 2022
Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

The word INTEGRITY conjures up so much hurt in my heart from past memories.

The day my sister and I were having lunch not long after Mom had died. I had just told my sister that I decided to contact Mom’s firstborn son that mom had given up for adoption. That is the day that my sister dropped the bombshell to me and told me this: “You are NOTHING like Dad. HE had INTEGRITY! You have NO integrity!”

I have written about this entire issue in my article titled “A letter to my siblings” — from December 26, 2021. (Sorry I do not know how to place that article here.)

Each time I read the word “Integrity” when it is mentioned in a devotional, I feel that old hurt open up again deep inside of me which is soon to be followed by a deep sadness of heart.

In Titus 2:7–8 Paul wrote:

“Show yourself in all respects to be a model of good works, and in your teaching show integrity, dignity and sound speech that cannot be condemned, so that an opponent may be put to shame, having nothing evil to say about us.”

When people that tell us how to behave while they themselves fail to behave that way in their own lives then they are called Hypocrites.

Matthew 23:27–28 tells us what Jesus thinks of a Hypocrite:

--

--

Lu Skerdoo

Let not your ❤️be troubled. I am Happy to be in the Chicken Soup for the Soul Book ~Miracles and the unexplainable~❤️😊