The 4th Industrial Revolution

Me, Myself & Fourth Industrial Revolution

Wurry Parluten
5 min readDec 24, 2015

--

Dear World,

My name is Luten, my full name is Wurry Agus Parluten. I am Indonesian, you can search me at “Google Image” with keywords “President Hacker”. As a human, I use internet like others. Sometime I feel, my life is internet. Like a man who serve his soul to the network machine. That’s me.

One day, I find World Economic Forum and read about “Essay contest: What does the fourth industrial revolution mean to you?”. Many days I’m not interest with this topic, because I’m not a revolutionary guy. I’m just human being. Like you, you, and you. But this day (Dec 23–24, 2015), I understand if I have a “great feeling” about this topic. Yeah, my taste direct me to write in my diary. Just for me (maybe).

Between Industry & Revolution

How do I can understand this topic? In my visual imagination, industry is “factory”. So I remember about Tim Burton’s movie, “Charlie & The Chocolate Factory”. It’s fun. Full of imagination. And then, my imagination direct me to my movie in youtube, the title is a Time for Satay. In my country, satay connect with indonesian home industry. So Industry for me have a range between big factory and home industry. From Steve Jobs to my friend who have shop for computer’s reparation. From Warren Buffet to my daughters who sell Rambutan. From Mayo Clinic to my Sister’s Clinic in my hometown. That’s the meaning of industry for me.

Revolution? Hmmm… I remember about my country at 1998. Young people who speak aloud about “Revolution”. I am 20 years old in that time. Maybe I understand about revolution, but when I asked to myself, I guess, I don’t know what revolution is. What is revolution? If you ask me about “evolution”, of course I know. Hmmm… I think… between words “revolution” and “evolution” there is ”R”. So my conclusion, revolution means… People make a noise about ”R” for their “evolution”. Maybe ”R” means “Rambutan” which my daughter sell it. Maybe.

So between revolution and industry, for me its about ”R”, factory and home industry. In my visual imagination… My daughters take Rambutan from the tree, and bring that to the home. After that, they sell Rambutan to the factory. With magic, that factory change rambutan to the “future computer” (like a pill). My daughters eat that pill. They are healthy for plant Rambutan’s tree. And then, they take rambutan again and sell it to the factory. Again and again.

A Pill Named Information

I remember about film “The Matrix”, when Morpheus-Neo talk about “Red Pill” and “Blue Pill”. I don’t talk about that pills, just remember about my metaphor with “Rambutan”. If pill means information, so, we must eat information to make us healthy. Of course in the internet era like now. Everyday, our mind eat many information. Sometime we find that information is hoax, but in another time we shocked, when another point of view say if that information “based from the true story”. Between hoax and true story make us confused, which one is right? Which one is wrong? That’s the fact in my country now.

When I boring with information’s war, I ask to myself… How if this phenomena continue in my daughter’s era? I mean, its about the future. Its about frantic generation as I afraid. I don’t want my child have a problem for decide their goal. I don’t want that. As a father, I need to know about their plan. Its not about step A, B, C until Z. Sometime we find another scheme, maybe from A-C-B-R-M-Z, or else. But the most important is goal. How do I discuss about their future, although I have problem with myself now? Its all about focus to make their dreams come true.

Save My URL

1. Manage My Time

2015 is the most important year for me as a filmaker. In this year, I finish my first movie which I make in this village. The title is “Gedung Buruk” aka Gedung Buruk The Movie. We (my team and me) make this movie for 191 days. When I edit this movie, I talk to myself for “finish it”. There are many voice in my head, to make my goal not reached. But when I see our photo at production, I remember about our struggle. I talk to myself again… Finish it! Finish it! Always like that.

When we watch the full movie (about 79 minutes), I remember about moviemaker in film “Bowfinger”. After we create “sneak peek” or “teaser”, I share that in Catherine Ryan Hyde’s facebook wall. Yeah, she is Hollywood’s novelist for movie “Pay It Forward”. In that case I know, if our movie have “international taste”. So… For the first time in my life, I can manage my time for finishing my feature movie.

How I find keywords “meaningful information”?

2. Meaningful Information

As a netizen, I read information everyday. About everything I want to know. But in the end, I find if “want” is not important. The most important word is “need”. As a father, I need to know information about “how to become a good father”. As a filmaker, I need to know about “how to become a good filmaker”. As a husband, as a cooker, as everything. I can imagine, if I eat every information in the internet (act blind). Maybe I can’t finish my feature movie.

My Creative Process for This Essay

3. Be Yourself

Yeah. For finish this essay, let’s we remember Audioslave’s song lyrics… Be yourself, its all that you can do.

Regards,

Wurry Parluten.

--

--