Sunday Sentiments: Overcoming Offenses

Kim Wright
2 min readMar 6, 2016

--

“And blessed is he, whosoever shall not be offended in me.” Matthew 11:6

I love the Word of God. His Word helps me in my everyday life. This scripture in particular is a longtime favorite. Although Jesus spoke these words to His disciples over 2000 years ago, His Word still carries a power-packed punch and is a resourceful arsenal of weaponry with very practical uses today.

According to Strong’s Concordance, the word “offended”, as translated from the Greek, means “to entrap”, also to trip up, to stumble, or entice to sin. This message, in context, was in response to the inquiry of the imprisoned John the Baptist who under the duress of his captivity questioned whether Jesus was indeed the Messiah. John’s faith was shaken for a moment as he must have hoped or expected that Jesus would free him from prison somehow. It was a reasonable expectation but not part of the Father’s plan. In simplistic terms, I imagine Jesus’ message to John was: “Don’t be enticed into doubting Who I am because My ways are not your ways.” When our own faith is prodded and poked, and things are not unfolding the way we hope and expect them to go as Believers and followers of Christ, we are challenged to remain in faith. There is a blessing in remaining faithful.

A practical use of this scripture for me is when dealing with offenses. People say and do things that offend us on a regular basis. How we choose to respond will play a factor in our own peace. “And blessed is he, whosoever shall not be offended in me.” So if I am in Christ, a Believer, a Christian then I don’t get offended — period. As difficult as it is to reign in my emotions, I purpose in my heart to stand strong in the Word of God and not react unfavorably when people offend me. “Woe unto the world because of offenses for it must needs be that offenses come; but woe to that man by whom the offense cometh!” Matthew 18:7 Offenses will come. The offenders will be dealt with. My hope is in the Word of God and if I stand strong, and take a simple action to walk in the wisdom of His Word, just by not getting offended and allowing my emotions to get the best of me, then I’m one step closer to living in the perfect peace He promised me. I’m one step closer to my blessing!

Peace and Blessings to all that will listen and take action.

--

--

Kim Wright

Just writing about stuff. Living, Loving and Traveling the world!