Getting started with zsh on a Mac Terminal

Lu Zhenna
8 min readSep 23, 2023

Summary

This article walks through every step to start coding in zsh from scratch using a Macbook. It also includes instructions to install new zsh theme and useful plugins. Additionally, it also shows how to install miniconda.

Target Audience

For Mac users who haven’t written code in shell. Or perhaps you have never used a macbook before and could not find the penguin icon in Ubuntu machines.

Please use this friendly link if you are blocked by a paywall.

Outline

  1. Open terminal
  2. Change default shell to zsh (Z shell)
  3. Install Oh My Zsh
  4. Configure zsh theme
  5. Install zsh-autosuggestions and zsh-syntax-highlighting plugins
  6. (bonus) Install anaconda
  7. (bonus) Install Homebrew and neofetch

The hardest part of coding is getting started. When I first started, I felt I was hacking my own computer. I did not feel confident at all. I hope this article can at least help one reader gain confidence in taking the first step to writing code in shell.

  1. Open terminal
Click on this icon to open terminal.

--

--

Lu Zhenna

Data Scientist | Data Engineer | Cognitive Psychology and Neuroscience PhD | 🤝 Connect with me on https://www.linkedin.com/in/zhenna-lu/