A wild Lydia

Lydia York
1 min readFeb 1, 2017

--

For the past year or so, I have been using Facebook and Twitter as an activist outlet of sorts. I mostly share videos or articles, but sometimes I will draft a paragraph in response to a particular political or cultural current event. In high school I kind of received a reputation for being an outspoken feminist. Last year I was also urging my followers and Facebook friends to please please vote.

The election of Donald Trump and the actions of is administration have ignited a hotter, brighter flame within me. I feel even more motivated to promote justice in our society. In fact, on January 21 I had the great opportunity to participate in the Seattle Women’s March. Words cannot describe how powerful the experience was. I so often feel alone in my beliefs and my passion for equal rights, but as I marched with 135,000 other people comprised of men, women, children, pets, I did not feel alone at all. Now, in my free time I email politicians, and sign protests. If you thought Lydia was wild before, you haven’t seen her under the Trump administration.

--

--

Lydia York

The ramblings of a college student at Seattle Pacific University