How to Cope with Depression During the Holidays

Lyneè Urban
3 min readNov 28, 2018

--

“So how has the weight loss plan been working over the past few weeks? Is there anything you’re struggling with?”

“It’s been tough to get my head in the game and make this a priority. I normally wouldn’t say this to anyone, but I feel like I’m going through a little bit of a depression.”

I knew where this conversation was going because I had already walked down this road with several other clients that week.

I didn’t have to ask because I already knew, but I needed to hear her say it.

“What do you think is triggering the depression?”

“I don’t know…”

Yes you do. Go ahead and let it out.

And that’s when the tears started to well in her eyes.

“I guess this being the first Thanksgiving without my mom is affecting me more than I thought it would.”

Depression during the holiday season is a common struggle for more people than we’ll ever know.

It’s a time of mourning for those that have to face this season missing someone or something that is no longer here. Whether it’s the death of a loved one, the demolition of a relationship, or even the shattering of hopes and dreams.

From a health standpoint, it has become more apparent that many of us use the goodies and treats of the holiday season as a tool to suppress this sadness.

There were multiple times over the past few weeks when conversations with weight loss clients started off discussing progress and quickly transitioned into talk of their depressive feelings.

As I reflect on these conversations, there are three words that come to mind as tools to cope with depressive feelings during the holidays: acknowledge, re-construct, gratitude.

Acknowledge

Don’t suppress those emotions when they appear. Acknowledge them. Give them a voice. As much as it hurts, when you bring negative emotions from the darkness of your chest to the light of your conscious mind, their control over you begins to weaken.

Reconstruct

Once these emotions are in your conscious mind, search through them to find the parts that are making you feel bad, and the parts that are actually positive. Then re-structure those thoughts by shifting the focus from the bad to the good. For example, if you are sad because you miss a loved one, focus your attention on your positive memories with them.

Gratitude

Finally, meditate on the positive memories, and express gratitude for the time you shared together. Think about what it is you have right now that you are thankful for.

As we get closer and closer to Christmas and the New Year, whenever you feel the emotional sting of loss rising in your chest, take a deep breath, and use these three words to keep you focused on what’s most important during this time of year: health, joy, and peace.

--

--

Lyneè Urban

Lyneè is a Nutrition & Lifestyle Coach on a mission to teach women how to lose weight and manage stress through Rest.