Creating Saturday

our autism journey

Lynn Browder
2 min readJun 2, 2024

--

Sleep exists somewhere else for me but thankfully Owen slept until almost eight. I was so thankful he slept and he was calm when he woke up but had lots of questions and words.

Middle school topped the list of what he wanted to talk about when he first woke up. He was also asking about summer school but he was very excited about going to middle school. He knew the day that summer school started but he was questioning when he would start middle school.

When I started looking up the date for him he said, “Today is June oneth.” My heart jumped for joy. I love that he is trying to figure out how to say the different dates and ordinal numbers. He is amazing and making incredible strides.

I can tell how much his school prepared him for him moving up. I am thankful that I held him back. As hard as this decision was I’m so glad that I did. I know this gave him more time to mature and be able to understand what it means. He has become more accepting of new places and that is also a huge step for him.

We got ready and I took him to his grandma’s house. He was great on the way there. He had a wonderful time with my mom and they even went on a ride. Thankfully for her, he behaved the entire time. He saved the bumpy ride home for me. He said, “Act up” and did many behaviors. I ignored…

--

--

Lynn Browder

I am on a mission to spread autism awareness, compassion, love and understanding. I have a twelve year old son, Owen who has autism. Love music and comedy.