Son Loving Saturday

Our autism journey

Lynn Browder
2 min readSep 8, 2018

Food, we all gotta eat it, we all don’t gotta love it. Or at least not like to eat it at certain places. Owen wasn’t really a picky eater as a baby. He liked more savory things than sweet things, but he ate many different types of foods. He constantly wanted to play with it more than he wanted to eat it, but he loved it. Then one day that all changed. But yet it really didn’t. He’s still not a huge sweet fan, even though he prefers chocolate milk to any other drink, but the foods themselves are more savory. The interesting thing to me is how he will eat different things, different places, for different people. Things that he eats at school he won’t necessarily eat for me, or something the babysitter has he’ll want it, but not at home. My mom made ham and cabbage, at her house. He wouldn’t touch it there, but at our house he ate it. The exact food he refused there came home with us, and he ate it. Owen is dairy, and gluten free, he takes supplements, like probiotics, and enzymes. It was a choice I made early on. I immediately notice a change in him when I took dairy out of his diet. Soon after he was saying his alphabet. I was in shock, I was beyond thankful, but I was in shock. The fog started lifting from Owen. The journey wasn’t an overnight success story, we’ve been down this road for awhile now, making changes, growing, and learning. I know what these changes did for Owen, I could see them. This journey has been emotional, but together we are a team. One day at a time, finding our way, on an ever-changing road. Find your path, go after your dreams, and set your plan in motion. Smiles to all and donut daze!

--

--

Lynn Browder

I am on a mission to spread autism awareness, compassion, love and understanding. I have a twelve year old son, Owen who has autism. Love music and comedy.