I’m Dreaming of a Pink Christmas

What color are you dreaming of?

Lynn L. Alexander
2 min readDec 23, 2022
Photo from Pixabay

I imagine when most people think of Christmas trees, they picture a green Christmas tree. My family always had a green Christmas tree when I was growing up. However, when we went to my aunt’s for Christmas Eve, her tree was white with blue ornaments. My brother, who lives in Florida, has a weird metal Christmas tree and decorates his yard with a pink flamingo.

I suppose I am wrong and not everyone imagines a green Christmas tree.
This brings me to why I am writing this article. I am not big on Christmas decorations and I live in a small condo; so my only decoration for the past few years has been a lighted, black lantern with a Christmas scene, glitter, and changing light colors.

I don’t know what got into me this year, but I decided that I wanted a mini Christmas tree and it had to be pink, which you probably guessed, is my favorite color. Most of my friends thought this was a cute idea, while one friend told me that it was ridiculous and a Christmas tree has to be green.

I browsed through all the pink trees on Amazon and ordered one; I anxiously awaited its arrival. It came complete with white lights, pink poinsettias, pink ornaments, etc. I placed it on my cherished piano.

I cannot tell you how much joy this pink Christmas tree brings me. I love pink and it makes me happy to see this little tree each day.

Did you know that the color pink was originally a masculine color for boys? Of course, today pink is a color mostly associated with females.

According to the Adobe website,

Soft and pastel pinks inspire feelings of kindness and compassion. Pink is a nurturing, playful, and nostalgic color that takes people back to their childhoods.

On the other hand, on the verywellmind.com website, Kendra Cherry writes,

Green is often described as a refreshing and tranquil color. Other common associations with the color green are money, luck, health, and envy.

All I know is that this tree makes me happy and I am tickled pink that I bought it.

What color is your tree and what colors do you associate with Christmas?

--

--

Lynn L. Alexander

Eclectic writer. Ovarian cancer survivor. My interests include humor, health, grief, personal essays and entertainment. Please follow me on my journey.