HOW I ENDED MY PEOPLE PLEASING CYCLE AND FOUND MY SELF-WORTH

Ten Effective Tools I used to Help Address my Unhealthy Relationship Patterns

missmedieval
6 min readApr 16, 2024
Photo by Tine Ivanič on Unsplash

I am not an expert in psychology or a mental health professional. I write based on my experience and research on how I have come to understand situations in my own life.

What is People Pleasing?

People pleasing is learned behavior that was programmed during one’s childhood in order to cope with stress. While growing up in an unstable home life with usually one or more emotionally dysregulated parental figures, one will develop certain responses and behavioral patterns in order to construct a safe home environment.

It is an outward projection that one has learned as a child by experiencing the backlash of witnessing and/or experiencing life demonstrated through dysfunctional relationships where anger, aggression, and emotional or physical abuse tend to be the consequences of one’s actions or inactions towards a caregiver.

Learned Behavior

When a child experiences danger or the threat of danger in their home instead of feeling safe, secure, and loved by their caregivers, they learn to respond to the danger by trying to control the actions and behaviors of others. They learn that by…

--

--

missmedieval

BA English Lit & Language Arts, with background in Creative Writing, TEFL Cert., French & Spanish 2nd Languages. Yoga Instructor, a Cold Plunger & Mom.