Reflection on Informational Interview

MUHAMMAD MUNEEB JAVED
2 min readJan 14, 2022

--

So I recently conducted several informational interviews with some of my university fellows to get an insight into their company and overall job role.

I contacted three of my university fellows one working at FFC, the other at Fatima Fertilizers, and the last one working at Descon. So the discussion started with normal salutations and random chatter related to the overall daily schedule and job life.

Then I moved into the thick of things and asked several questions to inquire about the company. So, first of all, I asked about the job role of each individual, then I asked about the company culture and work environment is there any professional training opportunity for employees at their company, how can I get info about any job opening at their company, what their company look for in an individual before making a hiring call, what challenges do they face at the workplace and what is the overall procedure for applying for a job.

It was a very good experience as I came to know about a lot of important information related to the job role of each individual and potent information related to the companies of interest. One fellow informed me that in their company hiring is more inclined towards the technical acumen of the candidate while the fellow from Fatima Group informed that they prefer a person with strong interpersonal skills.

I also learned about the corporate culture and came to know that a huge focus is given to professional training in these companies. They also shared this related to the challenges they faced.

I think the point of importance for me was that I will treat each company differently when applying for any future opportunities. It also helped me by providing ways to be updated about any available job opportunity.

--

--