My First Cooking Experience

M MunirAhmed
2 min readMay 30, 2019

I wanted to learn cooking; therefore, I started with my first recipe, Vegetable Pakora. Since it is the Holy month of Ramadan and Pakoras are present at every dining table, I decided to try this recipe. I’ve been thinking to learn cooking since last year but I was unable to do it.

Many times I’m alone at home and I don’t know how to cook. If I want any special recipe, I need to beg others to make it for me. Therefore, I decided to learn some of my favorite recipes so that I can cook myself. I would be able to help my mother as well and do her work when she will be ill.

I’m a boy and in my society usually females cook at their home. The male who cooks at home is taunted by others. I thought the same that what people will say. I was also hesitant to ask my mother to teach me cooking; therefore, I never asked before.

To complete my recipe/goal, I split it into three tasks.

  • Ask my mother to teach me a recipe.
  • Know the ingredients to make the recipe.
  • The steps to make the recipe and try it.

The experience of completing the tasks was good and I completed all of them. The first task was the hardest because I needed to ask my mother. I was thinking about what she will say. But she only asked me Why?. I told her the reason and she agreed to teach me in no time. I felt relieved. After that I didn’t know what ingredients are needed and where are they?. I gathered the ingredients and I cut the onions in tears. I remembered the steps that my mother told me and acted on it. I’ve not fried anything before, this was my first experience of working with Karahi having hot oil in it. I safely managed to fry all the pakoras and then took them out in a dish.

I’ve learned that sometimes we feel that this thing is hard but after doing it we say, “ It was an easy one”. It's necessary to try something. We should just start and let the journey teach us.

The next step which I would like to take is to try some more recipes at my home. This will make me independent and help me when I’ll be away from home.

--

--