Let me write you something:

A short confession about words and emotions

M. Tetsuya Nakamura G.
2 min readAug 8, 2022
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Recently, I found an oasis in writing about my feelings, a good way to drop the symbolic baggage on my shoulders. Memories suddenly appeared as flashbacks in my head, and then the words appeared in my mind. Words that reconstruct a new memory and become new feelings… Then a deep sigh, a pause to breathe, a pause to stay and live.

Write as a therapy

One of the things that I like the most when I write and share this kind of things is that maybe someone can feel and share the same thing, just like you, experiencing the same sadness or joy, feeling identified with your words. And that is incredible. My intention here is to express the hidden power that I found in writing, as a good therapy. Even if you don’t usually write, I notice that doing the exercise or reading related stuff also invokes these special feelings of energy, empathy, fullness, or understanding.

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I remember doing this (writing) when I was very young, just a kid. I didn’t used to use complicated words, but when I learned a new one, I liked to use it, to exploit its potential. Then go compiling a library of words that allowed me to communicate better, a little beyond my feelings a little more precise, to feel a little freer. Because writing is more than linking words, it is about painting an idea, a motif, from a white canvas, portraying a memory to provoke an emotion, it is making a particular form of art.

So, with this I´m trying to do something different for me. Trying to share some of the things I were thinking lately. And I hope for you could be useful the same way as it is for me. And that both of us feel a little bit better far from all the overwhelming reality of every day.

If you enjoyed or you think is interesting the content I´m doing, please support me with a follow, I´ll apreciate so much. You could also see other stories about differente topics on our publication Monotreme magazine, where I´m writer, editor and leading designer.

See also:

--

--

M. Tetsuya Nakamura G.

Biologist & artist. I write about biology, animal behaviour, ecology and art. If you like my stories don´t hesitate to follow me on medium.