I Hate Labels

mackayla redden
4 min readJul 19, 2018

--

Yeah you heard me.. i HATE labels!

Labels that our society puts onto individuals based on their taste, appearance and behaviours. It’s just wrong how one thing you do can determine what others think about you. You may wear a certain style of clothing and you are put in this bubble. No matter how hard you try to burst the bubble it will just not budge.

It sucks.

I haven’t written anything in awhile and well i don’t really have an excuse to explain why.. i would lie but my mother says i am terrible at it. I just did not have anything to write about since my life these days consist of working, sleeping and eating with the occasional social interaction. But i was in the shower the other day (sorry tmi right lol) and a thought came into my mind.. why do people get labelled? Here i’ll give you a quick example; people with depression are always sad. Like Donald Trump would say “That’s Fake News!!!!” and he’s right… sadly. I have depression and as crazy as it sounds, i am able to smile and makes jokes on a day to day basis. However, that is with the help of medication and the right lifestyle, no one would ever know the war i am battling inside my head. You see that is the whole point, there is this preconceived notion that people will have about you without even trying to get to know you.

That is why people suck!

This takes me back to grade 11.. 3 years ago. The 2015 Mackayla was carefree and living her best life because she was happy. She had great friends at school and then would go to dance everyday and just soak up all the greatness in her life. Then one day she decided she needed a hair cut. For some reason she was feeling risky. Inside a hat she put two pieces of small paper folded up. On one piece it said “bob”, a classic Mackayla cut and on the second piece of paper it wrote “pixie”.. now that was a daring choice. She stuck her hand into the hat and fished around for a single piece of folded paper.. and she pulled it out of the hat. Opening up the paper one fold at a time until she read.. pixie.

And the crazy thing is.. i actually did it!

My mom and best friend came to the hair dressers with me to cut all my hair off. I was surprisingly calm while a buzzer was on my head and i was loosing inches of hair. At the end when i saw the final results i expected to freak out or maybe cry.. but nothing. I was completely fine i was just like ok yeah i did that. I felt confident in the choice i made and was excited to show everyone the new hair do.

Sadly not everyone was accepting of the new hair cut.

I cut my hair in the summer so i did not see everyone until school started up again. Although, i posted on social media my new hair style so no one was shocked when i showed up to school with only about 3 inchs of hair. I got alot of positive comments on how great i looked and how much i suited this hairstyle.. which of course i thrived on. It was only until the school year really got started did all the negative comments begin.

I was called names everyday by people that i thought were my friends. I felt humiliated and disappointed in myself. I would come home crying because i was constantly judged for the style of my hair.. how stupid is that. I would be called a lesbian or dyke for just how short my hair was. I felt ugly. It really sucked because i actually liked having a pixie cut but i just couldn't deal with the name calling and judgement from people. It lasted for about a year until i gave into the bullies and started growing out my hair.

You see the thing about the labels that society puts on such silly things, it just ruins people’s self confidence. I would love to have a pixie cut again, but i would also like to not be called a lesbian for it. Why can’t a heterosexual woman have short hair without people questioning her sexuality? That is because people are quick to assume and they are ignorant for it. I mostly blame people my age and younger for this. I will see women older than me and celebrities rocking pixie cuts and no one is saying they love getting down and dirty with the same sex. I just want to be a damn heterosexual woman with a pixie cut!!! Is that so hard to ask for??

Society you need to fix yo self before you wreck yo self!!

my spirit animal.. Gina Linetti

Deuces xo

--

--