How a Pastor’s Wife Got Me into Witchcraft

DeAnna Paramo
5 min readJan 29, 2019
Photo by Christopher Alonzo at pexels.com

Someone once told me sunshine was good for the mood. This was before science proclaimed the benefits of vitamin D. So whenever I was feeling blah, I went to the local tanning salon. One February word had gotten around there was a new salon in town and I decided to check it out. As I pulled into the parking lot I was pleasantly surprised at the lovely fragrance of the flowers on tables. There was an abundance of giant ferns and foliage in front of the store. Once inside I noticed it much more than a tanning salon. There were hairdressing stations, exercise machines, and a glass display with an array of essential oils, massage stones, and incense. The place was a hippie’s paradise and the atmosphere was incredibly peaceful and serene. Plants were everywhere and it was like stepping into a tropical paradise.

The woman was remarkably pleasant and cheerful. As I paid, I complimented her on the beautiful plants and she mentioned they were for sale. Not being one to be good with plants I decided to give it a go anyway and purchased a couple of fragrant stocks.

Every two to three weeks I returned and had built a rapport, even though I never really knew her personally. Eventually, I would just call upstairs that I was there and she’d call down to let myself into the tanning booth. I never felt so at home. I would call “good-bye! I’m buying a couple…

--

--

DeAnna Paramo

I fight for those who can’t. Snarky & politically incorrect writer. Life motto: If Jesus can save ME there's hope for everyone. Follow me here and on IG.