Why should I build a brand? My horror story

Maddie Wang
2 min readSep 11, 2023

--

Why should I build my personal brand?

When I could be doing 10 things

Like cold outbound, ads, or SEO

Founders often ask me this question

They’ve done everything except build their brand

Then come to me, struggling to acquire customers

Here’s what tell them

….

Back at Stanford, when I was building an Amazon E-commerce store

I grew it to 120k in a year

But towards the end of it

Everything came crashing down

Originally, I relied on ads and SEO for growth

I tried cold outbound as well too

But here’s the thing

No one cared about my random ‘izyla’ pop socket car mount brand

Because it wasn’t even a brand

It was just a random logo slapped on a piece of plastic car mount

Over time,

My competitors came in, copying my design, packaging, and pricing

We were all nameless, brandless entities

KSWNG, PopTech, TopGO

Competing over tiny feature sets

Meanwhile PopSocket

Took the top spot on Amazon

Raking in gold

Why?

I had no moat

No brand

….

I learned that in this world

To truly create a differentiated offering

You need a brand behind you.

Otherwise, you’ll just be a minion, competing with minions

While the big guys eat your lunch

….

My business died after 1 year

Because I had failed to create differentiated, value

And truly build a brand

But since then,

Everything I’ve created starts with a brand

With QueerChart, everyone on campus knew us, and thats how I found my GF

With Founders Cafe, I get people paying $1,000/mo without even talking to me

….

With StoryMage.ai, I got paying customers overnight with just 1 LinkedIn post.

….

If you don’t want to be just “another name” out there, check out StoryMage.ai

We help you build your brand in stories like these, straight from the source — you.

--

--

Maddie Wang

Dropped out of Stanford to build http://founderscafe.io 😍 I’m gay! Made $250k from Minecraft, Amazon, etc.