The Jazz Musician with a Gypsy Soul

Maddy Caliendo
5 min readNov 20, 2019

Brandon Vetrano’s Journey to Success

By Maddy Caliendo, Yuliya Ilnitzkaya, Megan Ortinau, and Xiaowei Wu

© Brandon Perdomo

In society, dreams are often put aside because of the numerous difficulties people may face when they work to pursue them. For Brandon Vetrano, despite the obstacles he faced in insecurity, he never gave up on his dream of playing gypsy jazz. Currently, he performs in New York at The Belfry, Cafe Dante, and Kulushkat. His craft connects him to many people around the world and shares a sense of happiness for those who listen. As an artist who has played in several bands, his greatest achievement was when he produced an album called “Different Trips,” which helped him share his unique style of music. He has done several national tours and enjoys long road trips. He connects with people through his concerts all over the world and enjoys making people happy with his music.

Brandon achieved self-actualization when thinking about his values and his biggest challenges. He values his individuality and producing music using his own voice. He believes that collaborating with others is an important part of growing as an artist and understanding how several styles come together. Overcoming his insecurities of not being worthy of his success has driven him to work even harder and grow as a musician. Vetrano realized that with the right mindset and confidence he was able to beat the odds and become a successful artist in New York.

When we spoke with Brandon for an interview, he shared deep insights as to what values come from making music.

“The number one value is authenticity and being true to who you are when you’re making music. You’re putting yourself out there and not trying to be anybody else but just creating your voice. I think collaboration is very important. You have to find a way to make everyone’s different personalities come together. Everybody has a different vision, so we have to try and compromise and not make it personal.”

And also,

“The world may change, but the need for people to interact with other human beings who are creating art and music will never change. That’s the most basic pure form of connection.”

So first, tell us about the work that you do.

I play a style of music called gypsy jazz. It’s mostly French and European jazz from the 1920s, and it was invented by a Roma Gypsy named Django Reinhardt, who was a famous guitar player with only two fingers. He was a legend, a hero to many. At nineteen, I heard that music, and I became obsessed and started practicing it more. I started to meet people who played that music and realized there was work in New York, so we formed a band, and decided to take it seriously and make money doing it.

What are some of the values that inform the work you do?

The number one value is authenticity and being true to who you are when you’re making music. You’re putting yourself out there and not trying to be anybody else but just creating your voice. I think collaboration is very important. You have to find a way to make everyone’s different personalities come together. Everybody has a different vision, so we have to try and compromise and not make it personal.

How did you find out that jazz was what you wanted to do?

I heard it when I was younger and thought it was the most magical music. It’s so fun, free, and challenging but attainable. It’s interactive, and you get pleasure automatically. It’s not like when an artist draws a painting. I just sit down, play guitar, and I’m instantly happy. That was a driving force and also the ability to improvise, to change it’s always different. So, if I’m feeling angry that day, I can put my anger into it.

Where do you draw your inspiration and creativity from your music?

It depends on the music I’m playing, but in my album and newer projects, there was a lot of inspiration from Radiohead. Also from listening to Buddhist chanting and spiritual music. When I was growing up I really liked rock music, but also flamenco and Latin music.

Photo by Ralph Weisheit

Are there any places you preferred for thinking more clearly?

Yes, definitely. I spent time last year in Asia, Thailand, and Nepal just by myself thinking about music. I also spend a lot of time in upstate New York and on the farm. I also spend winters in New Orleans away from everybody.

In what ways does your work help you connect to other humans, where does this connection come from?

It’s very direct, not only am I connecting with the band, but also the audience is feeling our energy. That is clearly the connection we’re making. It’s so nice because I read a lot of articles, and they say that music has the power to make people happy, so whenever you are a little blue you listen to your favorite music, and it can just make you happy. I think that’s why every musician tries to make their music more influential, so people will learn about your music and it will bring them happiness. It’s the biggest reward that we get.

Photo Courtesy Brandon Vetrano on Facebook @brandonvetrano

Were there any challenges you had to overcome?

I had to tell myself I was good enough to be where I was. I earned my place. In New York, there are so many good musicians, and there will always be someone better than you. So you start to get insecure, and think, I don’t deserve to be here, but you do.

Any lessons from your journey you want to share?

Be nice and listen to people because you will get hired, and people will want you around. Many times people don’t necessarily want the best musician, they want someone who will make them feel good.

--

--

Maddy Caliendo
0 Followers

Student at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign