It’s 2020, find shit you hate and automate.

MATTHEW BLACK
2 min readJan 2, 2020

--

8 years ago I saw this video by Gary Vaynerchuk. At the time, it completely changed my outlook on what I was doing with my life. To this day, I’m not sure another video has inspired me more.

He yells at the audience “It’s 2008, there is no reason to do shit you hate.” That line still gives me chills. I quickly quit my job and have been working for myself ever since.

8 years and 3 startups later, with Gary’s point in mind, I’ve pushed hard with patience, passion and of course the old school hustle. I hustled my face off going hard at things I enjoyed (and even harder at the things I didn’t).

Did I get somewhere? Absolutely. Did I enjoy every second of it? Absolutely not.

It’s now 2020, and there is still no reason to do shit you hate.

If the 2010’s were the culture of hustle, I think the 2020’s will be the culture of automation. Specifically, the culture of automating shit you hate.

My unfair advantage is I don’t hustle my way through shit I hate anymore. Instead, I build tools to automate my way around them so I can spend my PP (patience and persistence) time doing the creative things I love to do.

If everyone shows up to the marathon with a full tank of hustle, how will you differentiate and pull ahead?

❤ Team Automate

--

--

MATTHEW BLACK

Founder of @BlackOpsNY. #Hackerpreneur. Helping hackers, entrepreneurs and brands build dope chatbots. Digs style, travel, fitness & the future.