Surviving a Urinary Tract Infection Without Antibiotics

Apple cider vinegar and The Lord of The Rings visualizations

Madeline Harding
5 min readOct 11, 2019
Photo by Mitchell Orr on Unsplash

Have you ever had a urinary tract infection (UTI)? It’s one of the most awful pains you can ever feel. And I’ve had migraines, period cramps, I’ve had my face dragged through asphalt, I’ve slashed my right wrist in a window and I’ve been catapulted out of a sleigh and into a tree. Granted, I’ve never been run over by a bus; that may hurt more. But odds are you’ll be in a coma, so you’ll sleep blissfully through it all.

Anyway, if you’ve never had one, it’s like peeing shattered glass, I kid you not. It feels like your urethra is a constant pathway for pointy bits of glass. And I do mean constant, as you’ll be peeing hundreds of times a day. Teeny tiny drops of pee and blood. And shards of glass.

If you haven’t guessed yet, I am currently fighting a UTI.

I’ve been its bitch for the last four days and three nights.

I’ve spend a good portion of Tuesday night sleeping while sitting on the toilet, resting my head on a stack of magazines. Five drops of pee would come out every 10 minutes, but if I tried to get up and move back to the sofa I would have to come back running, feeling like my bladder was full, only to pee another five drops. So I eventually…

--

--

Madeline Harding

I was a journalist for five years. Money was scarce. There was a family business. I jumped on board. That was a mistake. I write about that struggle & stuff.