Raspberry PI + Google TV (Logitech Revue) keyboard (Logitech K700)

Madhan Sundaram
2 min readJul 22, 2017

--

I was one of those who got excited about Google TV (Logitech Revue) bought one to find out in less than a year Google discontinued its support and came out with Chromecast. When I got the chromecast my google tv started collecting dust. Since then I have been wanting to use the keyboard (Logitech K700) that came with it.

recently I discovered that it works with Logitech’s unifying receiver but I hadn’t thought of using it with Raspberry Pi.

Logitech Unifying Receiver

I was also not sure if it would work with it. I bit the bullet and bought one recently on Amazon. I had read online people having great success without requiring any additional software. So I was eager to try it.

As soon as it arrived I plugged it to RPi but it didn’t work initially. There was no light on the receiver either to indicate any type of communication. Then I plugged in to my Mac, had to install software (found on logitech website) it instantly paired with K700.

At this point I was googling to see what folks had done for it to work with RPI. I found a comment on this thread https://plus.google.com/+AlexandreRoman/posts/aPu7G9F7ekb

Pair the keyboard and reciever first on another computer first if you have not already. I have my logitech revue keyboard working nicely with a logitech unifying receiver on the pi

Well that is what I just did !!. Now came moment of truth. I plugged it in to RPI and Viola ! it worked. I hope some one will find this tip useful !

--

--