Day 7/30: The Living room

Madhura Kadam
1 min readAug 4, 2024

--

I have spent hours and hours

over the past two years sitting in our living room

it was the seven of us

we somehow fit in that small room

but it was a safe space

we talked about everything

life, career, dating

all the highs and lows

these people who began as strangers

ended up creating the most comforting and open space

-

I write in my journal everyday — and every time we had a roomie hangout

it was for sure in the highlights of my day

-

As we close this chapter of being roommates

I forever cherish having this experience

getting ready together, tea times, post night out debriefs, date debriefs,

school stress, movie nights, mario kart, the hugs, the tears

-

I think about the life I wanna continue to live

And it consists of constantly finding this room

with people who are open, accepting and inclusive

I will forever cherish

the hours and hours I spent

sitting in our living room

-

PS: This poem was written as a memory of the good times I’ve had with my six roommates during university

--

--

Madhura Kadam

A dance, emotion and connection enthusiast | BSc. Biology, Psychology and Neuroscience