My first-year university life

Osadha Madhuwantha
2 min readJan 23, 2023

--

My First day in university life (@SLIIT Malabe Campus)

My name is Osadha Madhuvantha, I live in Galle District, Sri Lanka. My undergraduate career started in September 2021. At a time when the whole world is struggling to get up because of the economic collapse due to Corona. I started my undergraduate career at the Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology (SLIIT). Although I joined the university in September 2021, I had to start my studies in January 2022.

The first day on campus was unforgettable for me like everyone else. It was also an achievement for me to study online for a while and then come to the university and start my studies. The first semester was actually easier than I thought, if it wasn’t for an English module in that semester, I would have passed to the dean’s list. What to do, even though G.C.E. O/L learned through English medium, the usage has decreased with time and now the words have been forgotten. The first semester was easy for me because I could understand everything taught in English.

By the end of the first semester in June, my GPA was 3.58. The second semester started in September, I thought it would be as easy as the first semester, but the second semester is not close to the first semester. The second semester was more difficult than expected. Even in the first semester, without understanding what was taught, there were countless times that I wanted to go home.

Along with that, everything that was not in the first semester is in the second semester; In the second semester, there were assignments and viva, and I had to write most probably 50 codes in that semester (HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, c++). After writing the final exam, the result of that semester has come and now I am waiting for the start of the third semester.

Finally, I have to say to all my brothers and sisters, never forget your goal, no matter what university you study in or what specialization you pursue. Anyway, be patient to play the game.

NEVER GIVE UP…
ALL THE BEST…

--

--

Osadha Madhuwantha
0 Followers

Undergraduate in Bsc(hons) in Information Technology Specialized in Software Engineering