March 26, 2019

Madi Linds
3 min readJul 14, 2019

--

One of the best days of my life. Why? I’ll tell you, here it is.

I was finally meeting my favorite band in the whole entire world, The Driver Era used to be R5. I’ve been supporting the Lynch family for six years now, I bought the tickets in January 2019. My friend, Annika and I arrived at the venue around 12 PM. We met our new friend, Tyrnee. She arrived around 9 AM. Annika, Tyrnee and I met Ellington Ratliff. We talked with Ellington for a few then he went into the tour bus. A few more fans started to arrive about an hour or two after Annika and I arrived, we met some new friends: Madison, Megan, Alexa and Drew.

The eight of us were staying on the left side of the tour bus to give them privacy, but there were fans on the right side of the tour bus where the entrance of the venue and the entrance of the tour bus. At the venue we were at, there was two buildings. One was the actual venue and the other had the gross bathrooms plus a practice room with a bunch of instruments. As we were talking about the band, the girls were scared to go over and peek at where the other fans were on the right side of the bus. I go over, little did I know that Riker and Rydel Lynch were coming my way. I almost ran into Riker, I backed up real quick cause I didn’t want to bump into him. They passed me and the group, Rydel said that she liked my glitter (I had glitter as highlight on my face).

The opening band, Moontower had arrived. As they got out of their car, they were in their pajamas. The group — we later named ourselves ‘The Driver Era Squad & Moontower Utah Meet Up Squad’. So, the TDE Squad were judging Moontower for wearing their PJ’s and we thought they were the Lynch’s cousins lol. Now, we’re friends and we’ve hung out, go check out the articles I’ve written on Moontower.

At this point, it’s been a good couple hours. I’ve met Riker and Rydel, I took some pictures with them. We waited so long. It was finally time to check in for the meet and greet then we had to wait an hour. Finally, it was time to meet Ross and Rocky Lynch. I gave Ross a red rose and Annika gave Rocky a purple rose. Tyrnee went before me and Annika went after me. I bought some merchandise and headed into the venue where the concert would be. I was in the middle of Ross and Riker’s mic stands. We waited again until Moontower came on, Moontower’s set was amazing! I would recommend checking out their live show! After they were done — we waited some more until The Driver Era’s set started.

You can’t really see my face, but I’m behind Ross’ guitar neck. 📸: GordyDestJeor :)

There was a ton of waiting that day, but it was all worth it in the end. The Driver Era performed an amazing set like they always do. The crowd was pushing so much that if Annika hadn’t been holding my shoulder I would’ve fallen onto the stage. The whole show Tyrnee and I’s legs were on the stage and they were cramping so much like I said before — totally worth it. After the show, we waited a bit for The Driver Era to come out. We left before they came out of their tour bus.

I have a video of them posing for this picture.

That was it, my second experience will be coming soon!

Madi Linds… out. X.

--

--