Write Affirmations That Will Work Specifically For You

Marie Madeja
5 min readNov 25, 2021

--

4 simple priciples to write (or pick) affirmations that help you meet your goals and feel great; isntead of just make you cringe.

Photo by Tara Winstead from Pexels.

To write your affirmations is not exactly hard, but it is not a skill you’re born with either. The best is to experiment with it and see how which affirmation is making you feel.

Here are four principles to write affirmations that will work for you and you only:

1. The Affirmation Makes You Feel

To reap the most benefits from each affirmation, it should light you up. The sentence should make you feel positive emotions, which is a very individual thing. Sure, you don’t need to write all your affirmations yourself, but you can use this principle to pick only the ones that resonate with you and make YOU feel.

All of those ugly thoughts that we sometimes have, “I shouldn’t do this,” “I’m not good enough” — they make us feel emotion, too. Try and notice the exact feeling you have when you have an ugly thought. You are most probably not neutral towards it. In the same way, you shouldn’t be neutral about your affirmation; it should make you feel anything from relief, hope, excitement, motivation, or just plain radiant and happy so that a wide grin appears on your face.

Some examples of what affirmations work for me:

2. The Affirmation Is Resonating With Your Values

Your values are a great way to quickly know that the affirmation will pass the previous point and make you feel great.

A lot of unhappiness in life comes from not living according to our values. Affirming your values will reinforce them and help you move closer and closer to life where all of your values are present in your everyday life.

Some examples of values: family life, being a good friend, being a positive influence on your kids, kindness, education, and knowledge, being well-read, improving yourself every day, healthy body and mind, freedom, career achievement, making the world a better place, being courageous, loving relationships, and so on.

The list could probably go on forever, and you should make one for yourself. The best affirmations are the ones that make you feel connected to your values and expand on the things that you already do well.

Some examples of value-based affirmations:

  • I love my friends.
  • I am always working towards being a better friend.
  • It is important to me to be a good example for my kids.
  • I love my family and will always take care of them.
  • I care about my body and will always work to make it healthy.
  • I love learning new information and skills.
  • I love improving myself every day.
  • I am getting better and better.
  • I love to offer kindness to people wherever I can.
  • I enjoy spending time with my friends and cherish every moment.
  • I find it easy always to make time for my family.
  • I care deeply about being a good partner.

3. The Affirmation Is Not Bluttant A Lie

For any affirmation to work, it is necessary to pass through your conscious mind’s bullshit detector. Of course, we want to write affirmations that are not exactly truthful yet, but they do not have to be blatant lies either. Our brain won’t have that anyway.

There are two main approaches to writing an affirmation that is not a lie but is not always accurate or is not true yet.

Expand on the positive things that you already do or have or had, at least for a moment.

Write affirmations to expand on the positive aspects that you already experience in life and reinforce them. Sometimes you do work hard, or really can afford to buy what you want or are a great friend or partner. Tap into these memories and feelings and reinforce them. And especially powerful is tapping into feeling grateful for what you have or experienced in the past.

Affirm your values and priorities

Maybe you have not been a great friend to your BFF later, but you do care about the friendship. Perhaps you have been slacking at school, but you still deeply care about getting your diploma. Affirm that, let the brain know where your priorities are and what you want.

If you really messed up with your friend or at school, it may be challenging to feed your brain “I’m a great friend” or “I’m studying hard” at this moment. The mind will laugh at you. So, make sure you are affirming sentences you feel comfortable with, sentences that make you go — “well, yeah, that’s actually right.” And the easiest way to do that is to reach into the feelings of being grateful for the current state.

For example:

  • I love my friend, and I’m so grateful for our memories together.
  • I’m so thankful my friend forgave me in the past.
  • I help my friend whenever I can.
  • I enjoy spending time with my friend.
  • I care about being the best possible friend to her/him.
  • It’s important to me that I make this right.
  • My education is important to me, and I worked hard to be where I am.
  • I will work on my next exam.
  • I love learning, and I’m interested in what I’ll learn next.
  • I am improving and learning from my mistakes every day.
  • I’m grateful that I took the time to learn for the last hard exam.
  • I’m so grateful that I was able to help my friend when she needed it.

4. The Affirmation Invites and Motivates You To Take Action

I believe that affirmations and the law of attraction get bad rep because there is this notion that it works like a genie — you wish for something and you wait. But most people don’t want to wait for their dreams to fall into their lap, they want to work hard to achieve them and deserve them. But often feel overwhelmed and are simply paralyzed by not knowing where to start and what to do first.

Affirmations are here to reinforce and remind your brain what goal you are heading towards and what priorities it needs to take into account. All that is to help you take what is referred to as “inspired action.”

By repeatedly reminding your brain what you want, it can work to nudge you in taking action, make you feel the motivation to persist when going gets tough, and make you more intuitive when making decisions.

Your affirmations should be encouraging you to take action, not stall it.

Instead of “I’m rich,” a better thing to say could be:

  • “I’m ready to work hard and smart to become rich.”
  • “I’m ready to complete my requalifications to get this job.”
  • “I’m looking forward to learning new skills so I can create this.”
  • “I’m always working hard toward becoming financially independent.”

Or instead of “I’m a great friend.”

  • “I love spending quality time with my friends and always want time for it.”
  • “I love being able to help my friend when he needs it.”
  • “I care about being a good, more attentive friend.”

And as the last example, instead of “I’m educated and smart.”

  • “I love learning new skills and information.”
  • “I find all new information interesting.”
  • “I am enjoying challenging my brain and working on hard thinking problems.”

That’s It :)

Thank you for reading and I wish you the best on your journey! ❤

--

--