If You’ve Ever Secretly Wondered “Why Didn’t She Just Leave?” Read This…

Walkaway Wife, Part Deux

Maevyn Frey
13 min readSep 7, 2022
Photo by Nathan McDine on Unsplash

This all started with a throw-away comment from an awful counselor. When she used this term to summarize the end of my cataclysmic marriage, I didn’t have a frame of reference to know that she was labeling me, not as the abuse survivor who was lucky to make it out, but as a vapid and selfish woman who feels entitled to things she has no real right to.

Upon looking into the term, I discovered a treasure trove of misogyny masquerading as mental health treatment and felt compelled to eviscerate the articles that originated the term and propagated this madness in the medical field. You can read my first article on Walkaway Wife Syndrome here.

I am not a licensed mental health professional. My experience on this topic comes from being the ‘walkaway wife’ who ended up going for a repeat cycle of abuse because of a pair of counselors who subscribe to this radioactive garbage.

--

--

Maevyn Frey

Maevyn Frey is a neurodivergent wordsmith with a passion for justice and equality.