Writers Journey: Writer’s First Steps

Every new project for a writer is a new beginning and needs to be approached with a fresh mind.

M. Olchawska
Writing Club

--

To be a writer you just need to start writing. Luckily, you don’t need heaps of money to begin. The writer’s essential equipment is a computer, pen and a notebook. Some writers still use the typewriter, but I find the typing noise pretty distracting.

Most of the time I write on a MacBook Air, but I edit my stories and scripts on paper. Somehow, I feel that the paper gives me much needed perspective to see a big picture hidden within the draft.

When I’m out and about, I like having a notebook with me, just in case I need to make notes or/and comments. I know that some writers use their phones for recording thoughts and ideas. Personally, I don’t bond well with recording devices.

I’m not a planner. I don’t plan out the whole story before I write it down. I usually start my creative process with characters. Sometimes when I begin, I just have the characters’ names. Other times I know their history, and from that, I start building one block at the time. Some writers say that building from characters is a much longer process then plotting ahead. But writing from characters feels more organic to me. You have to do what feels right and natural to you.

--

--

M. Olchawska
Writing Club

Award-Winning Filmmaker | Sustainability & FI Writer | Screenwriter | Content Producer & Creator | magdaolchawska.com ecotopiauniverse.com | schoolruns.eu