The One that Got Away

Maggie Mae
3 min readNov 18, 2018

Time heals everything, according to what everybody says.

Time will heal your wounded soul, fixing every broken piece of your heart, slowly stitching a smile on your face.

But is that true?

Many years have passed, and the memories of you still burn like a thousand flames inside my body.

I still remember the way you used to smell, that sweet perfume you always put. Talcum powder and green apple. Unusual, someone may say, but to me, it was just perfect.

I still feel your hands caressing me every time I cry because I’m so overwhelmed with emotions; “look, a volcano exploding. Run away, fools” that’s what you always said to make me laugh whenever I was sad or angry. And I can still hear your voice in the back of my mind, like a sweet lullaby, just as if you are still here with me.

A part of me knows you’re not here anymore, the other part refuses to accept it. I keep living with this eternal conflict inside my head, two different people fighting each other to fill up the void you left.

You were always the best at driving me crazy. You disappeared for days without telling me anything. Then, all of a sudden, here you were, outside my door with a bouquet of lilies and an embarrassed smile; “Do you want to go out for a walk?” You didn’t even apologize.

--

--