Feedly: Your one stop shop for news

Maggie
2 min readMar 18, 2017

--

Image Source: Feedly

Everyone have their top favourite sites that they go to read about global events news or, celebrity gossip or current trends. However, it isnt ideal to have to check it everyday for what is new in the news due to everyone’s’ busy schedule and limited time. There is a tool that help solve that issue.

Feedly is a feed reader, a system that collects and organize all the news sources you subscribed to by following a website RSS features. It is able to organize all this data into one simple, clean format for users to easily see summary and titles of news articles for these sites.

Gif Source: Giphy

People are able to use one point to find multiple sources of information organized by their popularity or their publication date. Another feature that Feedly offer is that it have the ability to have alerts on key words currently trending by using a Google search on news that comes out about it. Feedly allows users to organize what they are following into categories that you want like a tab for current news, technology etc.

One reason why I use Feedly is because it makes finding news for marketing and technology topics easier for me. I have some of my favourite sites ( business insider) and others I havent discovered before in one simple to use dashboard. I’m able to read about current trends happening in the marketing and new technology a company have came out with. It helps save me time and effort into finding articles worth the time to read. I also helps me be up to date about news regarding marketing and technology so I’m able to have conversations with others have these topics.

It’s clean interface also makes reading easier because there isn’t ads distracting you or weird webpage format with the articles. It is a simple downward scrolling interface that allows you to easily move to between articles with it tab features.

As a business student in university, it can be challenging at time to manage school, a part time job, and personal free time. By have sites like Feedly, it helps make simple task like reading the news easier for me with my busy schedule. Feedly can be applied to more than just current event news but celebrities gossips, hobbies sites, music blogs.

--

--