Procrastination Dialogue

childwithinglow
2 min readSep 22, 2024

--

What benefits can procrastination bring me?

  • A chance to catch my breath
  • Avoiding rash decisions
  • Organizing tasks by priority

What negative impacts does procrastination have on me?

  • Increased stress
  • Missed good opportunities
  • Doubting my own abilities

Do I like this procrastination?
To be honest, sometimes I really don’t. Even though I know it’s part of my personality, I can’t deny the impact it has on me. And deep down, there’s a certain distance between procrastination and where I stand.

When some friends hear about my procrastination, they say:

  • “If you don’t like it, just change, and stop procrastinating.”
    Other friends say:
  • “If you keep this up, you’ll get nowhere. You need to work harder.”
    Some friends say:
  • “It’s okay! Occasional procrastination is normal.”
    And there are friends who say:
  • “Don’t be too hard on yourself.”

These voices echo in my head every day — whether well-intentioned or not, everyone seems to have their point.

However, procrastination isn’t always a meaningless escape. In some way, it’s also reminding me:

  • “Wait, does this task really need to be done right now?”
  • “Maybe now isn’t the best time?”
  • “Am I still hesitating because I’m not fully ready yet?”

For me, procrastination has become a kind of inner alarm, reminding me to slow down and reevaluate my direction. Sometimes, I have to admit it makes me think deeper and helps me avoid rushing into things. Perhaps procrastination is actually saying:

  • “Relax, the outcome isn’t as serious as you think.”

But this inner tug-of-war also drains my energy, turning into an endless internal struggle. So, I turned to the IFS (Internal Family Systems) model once again, diving into myself, to have a conversation with the “part” of me that procrastinates, to see why it exists.

When I started to explore my procrastination more deeply, I realized that it’s actually the product of certain life stories. It stems from past experiences, feelings, and unresolved emotions. When I began to cherish procrastination, I also started to cherish that part of me who had struggled in difficult situations.

After the conversation, I looked back and noticed that the distance between procrastination and me had shortened. I said to procrastination:

“You are a part of me. I understand that your presence is here to remind me, to protect me. I allow you to exist, and I allow you to be a part of me. I am you, and you are me.”

When I did this, my relationship with procrastination changed subtly. I was no longer controlled by it, but instead, I began to coexist with it. Perhaps I’ve found that balance now.

--

--

childwithinglow
0 Followers

Hi, I’m Quilla, a practicing nurse with 15 years of experience. I focus on self-dialogue and use my personal stories to write about life experiences