Linux or Windows? Which one is better for AI or Deep learning projects.

Mahesh Pardeshi
2 min readAug 2, 2019

--

If you see the above image then I don't have to type anything. If you are using a windows machine and after few mins working on complex models if you see the above screen, Don't Be Scary!

Those I do not use so much of computing power in windows still I get the above frustrating window in Windows OS.

So what is the right option while choosing the OS.

If you will ask me, I will suggest that Ubuntu is the best beat for the AI/ML projects.

Ubuntu is much smoother than the windows. You will face very fewer slowness issues on Ubuntu.

There are some other factors also to choose the Ubuntu over Windows as below.

  1. Ubuntu is Free
  2. It is more Secure
  3. It is Open Source
  4. No malware, no crapware, no virus, no worm, no system slowdown.
  5. Better Performance.
  6. Great Community Support.
  7. What do you want more?

Now the problem is there in our mindset. We say that we have more exposure to Windows and feel Linux is complex to use. But if you make a mindset that I want to switch to Ubuntu then don't look back. Just start. You will see lots of roadblocks or problems in the initial days but if there is Will There is the way. Solve all the small issues and move ahead one day you will love Ubuntu.

I am preferring Ubuntu 16.04 for all of the ML work.

I hope you will like my blog. Good to see in AI/ML journey.

For More Details click here

--

--