How Aerobics changed my perspective for itself

Mahipesh Satija
4 min readJul 3, 2017

--

credits: http://vksports.co.in/animal/aerobics/

I’ve always been a fitness enthusiast. Started gymming in my college days and improved over years, from being a skinny to a finely bulked into a Toned structure. Due to my traveling, career and health issues, i have not been able to gym since last 4 months and I was eager to start my fitness routine, if not gym, at least get into the flow of regular activities to keep myself sweating, which feels great, working out in any manner gives me adrenaline and all that is toxic inside comes out.

As they say, when you desire it, it falls into place and so did the same for me. I was searching to get into some sort of routine and suddenly this fine afternoon, a call popped onto my phone from a Local Gym, and they were offering a good discount for their fitness month, for a fitness routine including the likes of aerobics, zumba, yoga, cardio sessions, marathon and gym. This got me excited and i knew this was the chance, which i must not miss.

So, i went for the first class as a demo. And it was an Aerobics class, which I had glanced mostly Women doing, from a distance while I crossed through the gym. To my perception, it was a daily dance kind of activity which was done by mostly women to ease the process of fitness maybe, and I always took it as a “Women” centric form of fitness, and never gave into it.

So, this was my first chance to experience it, which I was not all that sure if I was gonna like it, but hey, let’s start with something was my plan.

So, I went, and i Started, and it progressed, the music was good, there was a good feel in the environment, every one was boosted, and i was pumped with the music for most of the reason.

The fun and Engaging for of fitness

So, it started with some steps, and then it became a series of steps, and then it progressed into a series of transitions into the same steps. And to my surprise, it is actually a very good routine for working on your memory. Wow, i had never ever thought of this, that Aerobics could be so good for your memory, that it could take out all the stress inside and keep your mind empty from any outer thoughts, by asking you to memorize your steps, because everyone has to go in the flow of it.

So, being a Dancer, not professionally, but a major part of my school Life, I had been dancing and full of Co-curricular’s, I was forgetting these steps, when they needed to be repeated. And i was doing mistakes, well most of the times i was right, but still i was making mistakes, the guy who used to choreograph dance sequences for an entire team of people, was now making mistakes for a sequence of 5 steps in a row. That challenged me then and there, to do it better, watching women in their 40’s do it so effortlessly.

But for the most of it, I was enjoying dancing again in a group. And somewhere I’ve been missing it unconsciously, which was revived in those moments. After repeating the sequences for about half an hour, we were taken through a small session of Stretching, and after that some more stretching, followed by a small session of Planks and Crunches, which by the way I missed working on my abs, (that used to show up some time ago, and now are hidden inside this slight layer of ice cream) and the end of the session, was followed by rhythmic enchanting music, with dim lighting and we were asked to sit, eyes closed and so some deep breathing.

This was mesmerising, and i enjoyed the entire process of it. Right from the start till the end, as all of these activities combined were my favourite but I couldn’t do all of them at the same time. I’ve always wondered pursuing them at different time slots, and always missed on a few, and that’s where I realised, was the most interesting part about this.

So, I’d like to put light into the key areas where Aerobics helps you:

  1. Memory
  2. Stress Relieve
  3. Dance
  4. Stretching
  5. Breathing
  6. Warm up

And bumping into other people, when all of you are doing the sequences in the opposite direction, and laughing about it, and that’s the fun part of it.

So many ativities in an hour, Woohoo, I’m feeling mesmerised, I thought and i went and subscribed for the fitness month and I want to give my time into this, as I loved the entire process of it, and if you’re too living your fitness in just dreams, then Aerobics can be a good start which would be a rather Fun start to your fitness regime and it can help you in a lot of sense, which now makes complete sense to me, and Yes, it’s not a Women specific Fitness routine.

If this post inspired you in some way, then show some love, as I am new in the writing scene and a little love from your side is all it takes to keep me going.

--

--

Mahipesh Satija

Digital Marketing consultant with endless love for Fitness and Music