My GSoC Proposal Got Accepted For GNOME

Mahmoud Ahmed Khalil
2 min readMay 9, 2020

--

I’m very happy to announce that my proposal for GSoC for The GNOME git client app “gitg” got accepted.

You can check out my project here.

I’ve been very passionate about the open source community since the very first day I used Linux and learnt about it. I always wanted to contribute to open source projects especially to software I use daily.

I’m in my senior year in my College, pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Engineering and Software Systems at Ain Shams University, So I saw this as a great opportunity to get more experience with the help of a mentor and an awesome community to enhance my skills, while also helping in improving, making an impact to and extending software I really like and appreciate it’s working flow, simplicity, and elegance like GNOME.

So I began this year by studying and learning more about the technologies used to develop GNOME Software e.g. GObject, Glib, etc. Then around February I saw the ideas list at GNOME website and I was really interested in gitg ideas, So I contacted gitg IRC channel, talked with the Project Maintainer (Alberto Fanjul, “albfan” on IRC) and told him that I’m interested, he presented me with a newcomers’ issue and I made a MR for it. Then I created a pet project just to play around more with libgit2-glib library, which is a wrapper for the libgit2 APIs.

Between the application period and the announcement of the accepted students, I’ve been trying to read more in detail the code base of gitg. I also tried to contribute to a feature I really like, that exists in most diff tools, which is highlighting the changes within the modified lines. I’ve made a MR for the progress I made so far, it’s still a WIP though, so I still need to try improving and testing it.

I’m really excited and looking forward to working with this awesome community, and for the upcoming weeks. I’m looking forward to being a part of GNOME and contributing to it.

--

--