Feelings of people in the old age

Mahnoor Rauf
3 min readFeb 28, 2020

“ Love and respect old age people because you are aging too.”

My grandfather died three weeks ago. We both loved each other a lot. I am the first child of his first son, so his love for me was beyond explanation. Every time I use to come home from my school, college or university, my first thing was to run towards him and tell him whatever happened or how my day went. We use to eat, play & sleep together. I was more close to my grandfather than my father.

When he died suddenly, I was in a shock for weeks. Still I can’t believe that he is not in this world.

After his death, whenever I see an old man or woman it reminds me of him. I observed that people at old age require more care, love and attention than people at young age.

Today, it is the bitter reality of the world that people leave their parents to the old homes saying that they cannot afford their expenses. How cheap this act is that parents who grew you up, educated you maybe lived from hand to mouth, struggled just to make you successful or a better person you don’t have time and care for them.

In this age this is the major issue which leads to mental illness and mental disorders that children don’t take care of their parents saying that they are busy in their professional lives. As a result old age people spend most of their time alone. Eating alone, watching tv alone etc.

When i get to know this harsh reality of the world it was heart wrenching for me. And I decided to do something for this.

Their are many old homes in Lahore, Pakistan where I live. And I have decided to visit old homes every weekend just to spend time with the old age people there.

They will feel that they are special, somebody care for them and they are not alone. i will listen to their life stories, will learn from their experiences, will tell how my whole weekend went. And maybe this act will make my grandfather happy who is watching me from the skies :)

At the end, I will say love your parents and your grand parents. If you don’t do that then Karma is always there. You will also be at their age some day and you children and grandchildren won’t love you like you didn’t love your parents.

Love you grandfather & miss you.♥️

--

--