4 Powerful Books That Can Rewire Your Brain

Rajashree Purkayastha
4 min readDec 13, 2022

--

Before I share the list, here is what made me read these intriguing books.

This year came with extreme emotions of deep personal losses, and I lived like a human robot thinking only as much required and resting, working, and delegating tasks.

In October, as I went for a long vacation to my grandparent’s home, I spent time contemplating. I couldn’t concentrate much on myself, and no human solace could lessen my grief.

I knew that neglecting to focus on my business might affect my work.

Nothing could calm my senses. So, to divert my mind, I became absorbed in reading books.

I bought some books from my wishlist and reread a handful from my collection.

I felt better and regained my vibes. I renewed my focus.

Instead of going straight into the lists, I want to tell you how positive rewiring of your mind can help you.

The science of neurons

Our brain is made of neurons, which can remarkably change connections between them, effectively rewiring them and developing new neural pathways.

Numerous new studies demonstrate how our brains change and how our ideas affect those changes. Neuroplasticity is the natural tendency of our brains’ innate predisposition to rewire through various factors.

Many great people recognize the ability of books or written words to transform our personalities and perspectives. Books can indeed mold us.

Here are the 4 books that influenced me profoundly.

1. The Brain That Changes Itself by Norman Doidge

This book explains the concept of brain plasticity as a whole and in various circumstances.

As a “science” person, I found this book both simple and incredibly interesting.

With each chapter, the book becomes more intriguing.

My favorite quote:

The brain is a far more open system than we ever imagined, and nature has gone far to help us perceive and take in the world around us. It has given us a brain that survives in a changing world by changing itself.

2. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

I like the book as a fiction piece and how the author used the characters to convey her idea of philosophy on her Objectivism theory.

It is a literary masterpiece. You will feel alive with this book.

My favorite quote:

Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark in the hopeless swamps of the not-quite, the not-yet, and the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved and have never been able to reach. The world you desire can be won. It exists.. it is real.. it is possible.. it’s yours.

3. Meditations by Marcus Aurelius

One of the finest books on stoicism.

It shows a road map for self-control and self-improvement that will teach you individual progress.

My favorite read in November.

My favorite quote:

You have power over your mind — not outside events. Realize this, and you will find strength.

4. Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway by Susan Jeffers

This is an interesting practical manual on putting fear into slumber and moving on with life.

Written straight from the heart. No jargon.

It is helpful, and more importantly, it encourages you to act.

This book was my October special read.

My favorite quote:

If you knew you could handle anything that came your way, what would you possibly have to fear? The answer is NOTHING.

The wrap

The human brain is magical. Our thoughts build us. With positive brain rewiring, we can change any unfair situation in our opportunity.

If you found this post helpful, share it with others.

Want to suggest something new? Please share in the comment.

--

--

Rajashree Purkayastha

Featured: Top 100 Content Writers Of India by Contract & Freelancers | Copywriter| Ghostwriter| Poet| Illustrator.