The Account of My First Anger Outburst to My Son

For the millionth time, son, I am sorry

Maisarah Atan
6 min readMar 22, 2020
Photo by Huseyin Akuzum on Unsplash

That night, my son was not the oh-so-perfect toddler that people always seem to adore. He was not the one that always falls asleep right after the first letdown. That night, he was an inconsolable little ball of mixed emotions.

And I was a nightmare waiting to happen.

I had tried to put him to sleep probably for the fifth time that night. My son hasn’t weaned off so he sleeps with me — which also means that he would be clinging to me to find the comfort that he needs to fall asleep.

He hugged me close, his eyes were slowly shutting. But just when he was about to doze off, he would sit up and cry.

And I was back to square one.

After a few tries, my husband took over. My son pointed to the living room so we went there. He hugged his father close but refused to sleep.

We played with him a little, whatever that he wants to probably ease him back to sleep. And when he came for a hug, I brought him back to the bedroom, but he still just won’t sleep.

We tried to soothe him to sleep but he just wanted to stay in the living room, eyes half-shut, and he cried out when we try to put him down.

--

--

Maisarah Atan

Mother, Writer, Storyteller | Sharing anecdotes on the highs and lows of relationships, parenting, and everyday life.