Some Thoughts on the New Google Tasks

Maisha Adil
2 min readMar 7, 2024

--

The new and improved Google Tasks is a no-fluff task management solution that is perfect for users of the Google ecosystem. Previously, I wrote a Medium article about using Trello as a university student, which was vital for balancing personal commitments, course assignments, and work during that period of my life. Post-graduation, I have been searching for an application that is simpler than Trello for managing my time. Google Tasks accomplishes just that.

Google Tasks on the Web

What I like most about Google Tasks is its seamless integration with Google Calendar. A recent update allows users to switch between the Google Calendar and Google Tasks view in a single web page. Personally, I like creating a separate list corresponding to the different calendars I use on a weekly basis. These lists can now be arranged Kanban-style in the Google Tasks view. Further, tasks that are assigned a date and time will appear automatically in your Google Calendar. In tandem, these features make for a lightweight user experience that is ideal for those who prefer a minimalistic productivity system.

A screenshot of Google Tasks on the web.
Google Tasks Web

The Google Tasks App

I will highlight once again that Google Tasks is a very simple application. The mobile app includes essential features such as creating lists, creating tasks and sub-tasks, assigning dates, times, and details to those tasks, and starring priority tasks. However, I would love to have the ability to add other identifiers (tags, labels, etc.) to tasks within a given list.

A screenshot of the Google Tasks app.
Google Tasks App

I must admit I am quite impressed with the new Google Tasks update and will be using it as my task manager going forward. The app is great for personal to-do’s, but I would recommend exploring a more robust solution like Trello for project management and collaborating with teams. Nevertheless, Google Tasks shows great potential and I am excited for future updates.

--

--

Maisha Adil

I write about books, tech, productivity, and other shower thoughts.