Maixo
2 min readAug 30, 2023

My multi tool affliction

I got interested in multi tools a few years back — a by product of coming to terms with self sufficiency /survival during Covid lockdown. I had always had a Swiss army knife of one form of other on my keyring …. when they weren’t getting confiscated by airport security that is ! Downside of SAK was that they didn’t have any pliers/grips.

My first acquisition in the post SAK world was the Leatherman Crunch. The vice grips are very useful in my trade as they can act as an extra hand for securing material but other than the grips, the toolset is minimal.I have copied links to YouTube videos on these tools for anyone who is not familiar with them.

https://youtu.be/kM1MHSoUeio?si=ulTNuGHcEXvEtCrK

Next up was the Leatherman Surge - the ultimate multi tool but it’s a bestial 12 ounces and too heavy for every day carry.You could carry it on a belt but the weight will eventually make you look like a rapper.

https://youtu.be/k8nMloPkxz8?si=Px5Q7ddxTlmnmMUq

I then graduated to Leatherman Charge TTI which was much more portable with a similar tool set. Because these are the titanium version, they are certainly not cheap so loss aversion issues came to the fore.

https://youtu.be/47TYTc2VIUU?si=e4yINy8HjP546gTH

The next phase of my odyssey was downsizing. Minimalist but multi functional was the target - A multi tool is only useful if it is with you. I reasoned that the basics had to be some sort of pliers/grips, screw driver(s) , a blade aaaaand a pocketable carry.

I heard great things about the Sog Powerpint so, needless to say, I had to have one. This was indeed…. nearly the answer to my prayers only for the lack of good screw driver heads. The Phillips is only a number 1 and they had a brain fart with their attempt at a flat head. There is a 1/4" bit driver at top end and it was a bit clumsy to use standalone but…. Drumroll….. There is a solution! And that solution is a magnet. Here is the chap who gave me the idea.

https://youtu.be/OUwVGw8dnzM?si=kOlGXxLCXlpYy372

This is my mod and it works like a dream. This is one extremely useful tool packed with features and you wouldn’t know it was in your pocket. These pocket battleships will set you back €63 on European websites but if you can sit on your hands for 4/5 weeks, they ship from China for half the price and they are legit — Sog tools are made in China!

Link https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_DeSLn3N

Magnet cut out
Maixo

I am a mechanical technician from Ireland. I am working in Norway because the weather in Ireland is neither wet nor cold enough for my liking!