Why Does Working in Hospitality Change You as a Person?

Maria Navarro
4 min readJun 17, 2022

I was going through my camera roll last night, and I found this picture.

Me and one of my ex-coworkers eating a slice of pizza, sitting on top of the racks before polishing all the glassware and going straight into dinner service. Before this picture, we were already around 8 hours deep into our shift. We had done brunch service and dealt with all the family gatherings, the bottomless mimosas, and the loud happy kids. I bet you can feel the pain in our feet now. We’ve all been there, right?

You might be thinking, “okay well why is she telling me all this?” Well my friend, because once you step into the back of the house of a restaurant or a hotel, you’re never going to be the same.

Working in this industry is like going to the eye doctor. You end up getting a new pair of glasses that allow you to see everything in a different way. You see a much more realistic and emphatic world out there. You see all the hard work, the sweat, the tears, and the laughs.

You start to notice all the things you didn’t when you were a customer sitting on the other side of the table. All the details, the smiles, the frowns, the excitement.

Working in this industry makes you have a strong set of skills, including being a team player, and at the same time, being a leader

--

--