Getting Out of Pharma

Make Ads with Me
3 min readMay 20, 2019

--

So one of the number one questions I get is, “so I currently work in Pharma, how do I get out?”

Before I answer this, I want to clear up a few things. First of all, the pharmaceutical advertising industry is chock full of talent and unique challenges. Personally, during my short stint in Pharma I worked with some of the most talented people I’ve ever met to this day. That being said, I think it is a unique sector of the industry, with it’s own animal of challenges which can be fun for some and frustrating for others. Personally, I liked it. But I left for a very important reason. For me, I respect the industry so much, that I wanted to make sure if I ever worked in it again, I could give it the respect back it deserved. And I couldn’t do that if I was pigeonholed into it. So I left and if I ever go back it won’t be because I’m pigeon holed, but because I choose too (and because someone is kind enough to let me). So I want to encourage other creatives who are trying to get out, to make sure you’re not bashing it in the process or trying to get out because it “sucks.” You can think that, but those creatives deserve respect for the crazy hard work they do.

Okay, I’m done preaching and here’s how you get out:

  1. Remove all Pharma from your book. I know, this hurts. The late launch nights, the killer retouched print ads, and that time you somehow made high cholesterol sound sexy. Lose it. No one will give it the time of day to understand the work and talent that went into those pieces. Unless it’s something that won a ton of awards or was philanthropic in nature, it will get overlooked and get you written off as a Pharma writer.
  2. Now that your book is empty and your dreams are crushed, fill that bad boy back up. What type of work do you want to be making? Make it now. Fill your book with amazing spec. Wondering what should go into a portfolio? Read more on that here. Need a partner- get one here.
  3. Be OPEN to a pay cut and title change in the beginning. It all evens out in the end, but Pharma creatives get paid more quicker to keep them happy. And there are a lot more positions (mid, senior, copy/art sup, group sup, acd, etc) so promotions happen quicker too — so you might have to take a step back to move forward. But like my aunt told me once, when you have to take a step back after you felt like you were taking one forward, it’s not really a step back at all- it’s the cha cha.
  4. Be open to stepping stone agencies. Depending on your level (if you’re junior still seeking intern or junior roles this doesn’t apply to you as much). But if you’re mid or senior, traditional legacy agencies are going to be tougher to get into straight from Pharma. You have a better chance at what I call stepping stone agencies. Activation, shopper, and PR agencies are more likely to give you your first chance. Work at those, get some real work/brand names in your book, and then try to get your foot in the door at a digital or traditional shop. One word of warning, the health arms of traditional shops (while great health agencies in their own right) WILL NOT get you close to the consumer proper agency. They are completely separate- even sometimes under the exact same name they will still be on a different floor and segregated. Recruiters will tell you otherwise- do not listen to them.

Ultimately, this process is hard, it takes patience and it takes constant reassurance to yourself that you are good enough to make any type of work you want to make. I just remind you, respect every creative and shop you work at along they way, even if you aren’t working at the place you want to make or doing the work you want to do. If you spend too much of your energy focused on what’s next, you’ll miss opportunities right in front of you.

--

--

Make Ads with Me

Building an advertising portfolio alone is hard. Welcome to the first ever creative partner matchmaking service. www.makeadswithme.com