My Opinion Matters Too

Tumelo Makgotla
1 min readMar 6, 2024

--

I grew up as a confident young girl, but along the journey to adulthood, that confidence gradually faded. I began doubting myself, which was frustrating because I believe self-confidence is crucial in growing up.

For a considerable period, I remained silent, convinced that my voice didn’t carry much weight. Even when I did speak up, I found myself questioning whether my words made sense and worrying about others’ perceptions of me. The recurring thought was, “What do people think of me? Am I good enough? Am I smart enough?”. Numerous doubts about how I appeared to others plagued my mind.

As mentioned in my previous posts, I embarked on a journey of self-discovery and self-love. Though it took time, I eventually recognized my own worth, marking it as one of my significant achievements. Part of this self-discovery involved returning to my faith in God, whose reassurance and guidance played a crucial role in reminding me of my importance.

Recently, I’ve been pushing myself to step outside my comfort zone. The first time I spoke my mind and stood up for myself, my inner voice questioned what others thought of me. Yet, a stronger voice countered with, “What do YOU think of them? If you’re concerned about their opinion, they should also be concerned about yours.”

I’m not advocating for selfishness or insensitivity, but if others’ opinions have such a powerful impact that they hinder your growth and opportunities, it’s time to acknowledge that your opinion matters too.

--

--

Tumelo Makgotla
0 Followers

"Navigating life one adventure at a time. ✨ | Photographer, Social Media Manager, Content Creator| Making memories and chasing dreams. 🌟 #LifeEnthusiast"