“Everything in this song is about my family…I just thought about the craziness…but how I wouldn’t change it for anything.”

Makila Wheatley
4 min readJul 30, 2022

--

-An Interview with Hillary Reese

Photographer: Brittany Bell

Hillary Reese is a 16 year old singer, songwriter and instrumentalist from Mississippi, who first caught the public’s eye at the tender age of 8, when a series of video’s posted on Facebook went viral, gaining millions of views, which helped in establishing a loyal fanbase. Her musical style has been described as “a balance between the charm of a southern belle and the ferocity of a steel magnolia”. I recently got to pose some questions to Hillary, ahead of the release of her latest single “All The Good Ones Are Crazy”

You’re getting ready to release your new single “All The Good Ones Are Crazy,” which you co-wrote with Josh Courson and Jason Hamor. It has a really catchy beat that’ll have people bopping their heads and tapping their toes from the opening verse. What was the inspiration behind the song?

Everything in this song is about my family, so I really didn’t have to think too hard. I just thought about the craziness in my family but how I wouldn’t change it for anything.

There are some really catchy lyrics in the song, do you have a favourite?

My favourite lyric is probably “Grandpa Larry shootin wild turkey every night, calling me up giving me career advice” because if you’d know my grandfather, that sums him up to a tee.

This song has a real contemporary feel, yet there are a lot of strong instrumental moments that give it more of a “traditional” country vibe, was that an intentional choice?

That was definitely what I was aiming for! I love all the traditional country things but at the end of the day, I am a teenager and that plays into my music.

Photographer: Brittany Bell

What or who has influenced your musical style?

I would say The Honky Tonk Angels (Dolly Parton, Loretta Lynn and Tammy Wynette) are one of my biggest inspirations! All three of those women paved and shaped country music. I pull a lot of inspiration from them lyrically and melodically.

You’ve worked with some really well established individuals in the business like Jeff Huskins (former member of Little Texas), who produced “All The Good Ones Are Crazy” and Kent Wells who has produced for the queen of country herself; Dolly Parton. What did you learn from working with them?

I’ve learned what it’s like to be in a studio environment and really build something that’s yours. They taught me how to key in on my craft and own my artistry.

Do you think being a singer, songwriter and instrumentalist, allows you to approach the process of writing a song from different angles? Or have you found an approach that works best for you right now?

I would say 90% of the time I start with the lyrics! So that’s usually the angle I look from first and most of my songs form from that.

What does that process look like for you?

I make myself put my phone away and really reflect within myself. I tune everything out, and then just put pen to paper and see what happens.

Photographer: Brittany Bell

Who are some of your favourite songwriters?

Hillary Lindsey has to be at the top of the list! I grew up listening to songs she wrote and still to the day, I do the same. She has a way of having the perfect balance of focus on lyrics and melody.

And if you could write with anybody who would it be? Or who would they be?

I would say my top two would be Dolly and Hillary Lindsey! Both are great writers, and I respect them so much!

How about a collaboration? What artist or band would you love to do a song with?

I would love to collaborate with Hardy. I think he has such a unique sound while still bringing twang and country flare to his music.

In the dream of dreams; you get to open on tour for anybody, who would it be?

Carrie Underwood! Her showmanship is like no other and I learned how to act on stage by binge watching her concerts and shows.

And finally what’s coming up for you in the rest of 2022?

I will be playing more gigs so make sure you follow my socials to keep up with those!

“All the Good Ones are Crazy” is Available August 5th! Pre-save here!

Facebook / Instagram / Spotify / Apple Music / YouTube

Photographer: Brittany Bell

--

--