So I have tried so many different types of protein powders. Whey, soy, weight gainers, egg protein … you name it. However, I never tried a protein that was vegan before, so when I learned about Arbonne’s protein being derived from peas, rice and cranberries I was skeptical to say the least. My initial thought was that this is going to taste like cardboard. I was definitely proven wrong.

Before I did this review , I personally completely stopped having protein powder after my workouts because of how toxic some of the ingredients are in there. I now resort to natural sources of protein, such as chicken breast, almonds and beans because I was not able to find a high quality natural protein powder. The first thing I checked out was the ingredient list ; it’s short and contains organic or non-gmo ingredients. I also appreciated how stevia leaf was used, rather than a splenda or aspartame (both of which are not good for your physical and mental health). However, I did notice how there is a lot of sugar in these…. about 9 grams per serving , which is slightly less than a green apple . They also contain maltodextrin , which is used as a thickening agent. Their other ingredients such as xanthan gum , guar gum and gum acacia can bother those with a sensitive GI tract. It personally did not bother my stomach and when I asked Arbonne about this , they shared that , according to their development team , there is a minimal amount of gum and is not enough to cause harm.

According to Arbonne, some key ingredients and benefits are:

  • Essential amino acids help support muscle repair and protein synthesis
  • Low allergen potential achieved by avoiding common allergens such as soy and whey (which are present and many protein shakes)
  • 20 grams of natural vegan protein promotes satiety and is easily digestible

Chocolate

When I first opened the package, I was surprised at how delicious this smelled. It has a strong sweet chocolate scent. It smells like a dessert , not a protein mix. I mixed 2 scoops with 9 ounces of cold water. The instructions say to “shake vigorously” ; I interpret this as “break out the blender”.

Upon tasting it, I noticed there initially is extremely minimal salt flavor, followed by a rich decadent cocoa. The biggest note I tasted was the chocolate. It tasted very similar to a hot chocolate … but cold. I’m sure if this was blended with hot water it would be a great post workout treat. The texture was pretty smooth overall, but I did notice some slight grittiness in the protein. If you added additional water or blended it longer that could help smooth out the texture . The shake was just the right about of sweetness. If you have a sweet tooth , freeze and blend ½ of a ripe banana with the protein. That will transform this into a “milkshake”.

Vanilla

I am not a vanilla protein person by any means. Most vanilla protein I’ve tried tastes artificial to me. This one has a pretty decent flavor compared to the other ones I have had before. The smell isn’t as powerful as the chocolate, and the consistency is much smoother and less gritty as well. I ended up adding 1 tsp of raw hemp seeds, 2 tsps of organic peanut butter and cinnamon. This makes the shake tastes much more like peanut butter rather than vanilla. This is great option for those , like myself, who love PB protein but dislike how many additional chemicals are added for that flavor. I was once told to never get peanut butter flavored protein because a lot of additives are added in order to get that taste without adding fat.

They were not kidding when they said that this is easily digestible. It did not bother my stomach at all . I also noticed that I had more energy after I drank this , probably due to the ginseng root powder that’s in the blend.

Pros:

  • Vegan
  • Amazing smell
  • Rich chocolate flavor
  • Increased energy
  • Easily digestible
  • Smooth consistency (vanilla)

Cons:

  • Decent but minimal vanilla taste
  • Slight initial taste of salt (chocolate)
  • Higher price point compared to other proteins
  • Slight gritty texture (chocolate)
  • Sugar

The final verdict:

Depends on your lifestyle

I personally like it! I appreciate how much energy I had after drinking this and how clean the majority of the ingredients are. Many protein powders have a ton of ingredients and lots of chemicals in them, so it was great trying a more natural protein powder that did not. I liked how rich the chocolate was and how easily transformable the vanilla protein was.

If you are a very clean eater and want to avoid the sugar and gums in this , try out the Daily Essential Daily Protein Boost. Overall, you are definitely getting a much higher quality protein and even though it costs more than most protein powders, I think the price is justified. If you would like to try this out for yourself, click here.

What wellness product are do you want us to try out next? Leave your response in the comments below and be sure to share this post with your friends !

— — —

About Makin Wellness

Founded in 2017 , Makin Wellness is counseling and wellness center located at 239 Fourth Avenue, Suite 1801 Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222. The company’s mission is to facilitate healing and growth in people. For more information or to download their free Stress Busting Protocol, visit their website at MakinWellness.Com or call (412)-532–1249 to set up a free consultation.

Sara Makin, M.S.Ed.,NCC

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

Website

Book

Makin Wellness | Online Therapy & Counseling

We specialize in helping YOU heal and become happy again :) #healinghappenshere